Graham Reid’s men will look to continue their good run of form in the tournament.

India is in the same group as Pakistan, Bangladesh, Japan, and South Korea. The Indian hockey team drew its opening game against South Korea and won 9-0 against Bangladesh in the second match of the Asian Champions Trophy. India is up against Japan today in their fourth match of the tournament.

Pakistan and India are joint defending champions of the tournament. They didn’t pay the final in the 2018 edition as the rains poured down heavily at the venue. The ongoing tournament involves the six best Asian countries competing in a round-robin format. In recent times, India has won the Champions Trophy in 2011, 2016 and 2018. 

Plenty of chances but no finished product

2:00 PM Hello and welcome to the live updates from the Men’s Asian Champions Trophy 2021.

The Indian hockey team is currently participating in the Men’s Asian Champions Trophy 2021, hosted in Dhaka, Bangladesh from 14 December onwards. Manpreet Singh is leading the outfit after their historic Olympic bronze medal-winning performance at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Here is the team that will participate in the Asian Champions Trophy and aim to win the title:

Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera 

Defenders: Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Mandeep Mor, Harmanpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey

Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Akashdeep Singh, Shamsher Singh, Jaskaran Singh

Forwards: Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Dilpreet Singh

India and Pakistan are the joint-winners of the Asian Champions Trophy. They didn’t pay the final in the 2018 edition as the rains poured down heavily at the venue. Malaysia was also supposed to take part this year but withdrew before the start of the tournament. Bangladesh is playing hosts after the tournament was postponed multiple times due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.