Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Neeraj Chopra, Vandana Katariya among Padma Award winners in 2022

Published at :January 26, 2022 at 5:09 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Olympics)

Shaunak Ghosh

Para javelin thrower Devendra Jhajhariya was conferred with the Padma Bhushan Award. 

The Padma awards are prestigious national awards given to individuals who show exemplary work in their respective fields. These areas could vary from art to literature and also include sports. Many well-known sports personalities in the past have won the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shree respectively. This year too, several individuals have received prestigious national awards for their outstanding service in the field of sports.

Para javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia received the Padma Bhushan for his exemplary performances, especially at the Tokyo Paralympics 2021, winning a gold medal at the even. The para-athlete is the most successful Indian in the history of the Paralympics, with two golds and one silver medal. He is the sole winner in the field of sports to win the third-highest civilian award this year.

Neeraj Chopra won a historic first-ever athletics gold at the Tokyo Olympics in the javelin throw and hence receives the Padma Shri award for his contribution.

Sumit Antil delivered the gold medal at the Tokyo Paralympics in 2021 in the Javelin Throw F64 event. Hence, he receives the prestigious Padma Shri award for his exemplary performance.

Pramod Bhagat was one of the gold medal winners at the Paralympics. He won India’s first-ever gold in badminton and receives the Padma Shri for his incredible display.

Indian women's hockey striker Vandana Katariya also received the Padma Shri award. Her hattrick against South Africa at the Tokyo Olympics was a highlight as she scored plenty of goals throughout. Moreover, her contribution to India’s historic march towards a historic fourth-placed finish at the Tokyo Olympics.

Para shooter Avani Lekhra received a lot of praise for her gold medal-winning performance at the Tokyo Paralympics. She receives the Padma Shri for her overall contribution in sports despite the tall odds. 

Other notable winners of the Padma Shri from the field of sports are Sankaranarayana Menon Chundayil, Faisal Ali Dar and Brahmananad Sankhhwalkar. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.