Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Which tennis players have won most different tournaments in ATP Masters 1000 series?

Published at :April 2, 2024 at 5:28 PM
Modified at :April 2, 2024 at 5:28 PM
Post Featured Image

M Sudharshan

Daniil Medvedev recently lifted the Miami Open after beating Jannik Sinner in the final.

ATP Masters 1000 events debuted in the year 1990 and since have been held regularly. Every year nine Masters tournaments are held with top-ranked players taking part across different events. Novak Djokovic has won a record 38 ATP Masters titles. ATP Masters offers 1000 ranking points which are the second most after Grand Slams.

In this article, let us discuss the players to have won the most different tournaments in ATP Masters 1000 series.

Daniil Medvedev (5)

Former world No. 1, Daniil Medvedev became the latest entrant in the list by winning the ATP Masters 1000 Miami Open. The Russian won his first Masters title in 2019 at the Cincinnati Open defeating Novak Djokovic in the final. This was his second consecutive Masters final after losing the previous one to clay specialist Rafael Nadal at the Roger Cup. He had a poor season the following year but won his only tournament (Paris Masters) in 2020.

He started to regain form and got back into the top 10. Medvedev progressed to the final of the Indiana Wells Masters but lost to teenage sensation Carlos Alcarez in the final. 

Tournaments – Cincinnati Masters, Shanghai Masters, Paris Masters, Canadian Open, and Miami Open.

Marcelo Rios (5)

The 47-year-old Chilean became the first Latin American player to reach the top position on the (ATP) singles rankings in March 1998, holding the spot for more than a month. Also, he was the first player to win all three clay-court Masters tournaments (ATP Monte Carlo, Rome, and Hamburg). Apart from winning the three clay Masters titles he further went on to win two hard court Masters (Indian Wells and Miami Masters in 1998).

Ríos is also the only men’s player in the Open Era to have been world number one without ever winning a Grand Slam singles tournament.

Tournaments – Monte Carlo Masters, Rome Masters, Hamburg Open, Indian Wells, and Miami Open.

Trending Indian Sports articles

Pete Sampras (5)

The former World No. 1 American is regarded as one of the greatest tennis players having dominated since his debut in 1988. He has won 14 Grand Slam titles in his 14-year professional career. Pete Sampras won his first Masters title in 1992 at the Cincinnati Open by defeating great Ivan Lendl. He won the Miami Open in 1993 followed by Indian Wells Masters in 1994, Italian Open, and Paris Masters in 1995.

Overall the American has won 64 top-level singles titles and was the year-end world number one for an ATP record (for six consecutive years) from 1993 through 1998.

Tournaments – Cincinnati Masters, Miami Open, Indian Wells Masters, Italian Open, and Paris Masters. 

Rafael Nadal (7)

Spanish legend and clay specialist Rafael Nadal has won 36 ATP Masters 1000 titles overall (two behind Serbian Novak Djokovic). He has had the longest run of consecutive years with at least one Masters title (10). Nadal and Djokovic are the only players in history to win at least five Masters titles at four separate events (Monte Carlo – 11, Rome – 10, Madrid – 5, Canada – 4).

He won his first Masters title at the 2005 Monte Carlo Masters and went on to win four Masters titles overall in the season. The former world number one won his last title at the 2021 Italian Open (his tenth title at the Open).  

Tournaments – Monte Carlo Masters, Italian Open, Canadian Open, Madrid Open, Indian Wells Masters, Cincinnati Masters, and Hamburg Open.

Andy Murray (7)

The three-time Grand Slam champion is making a strong comeback after undergoing surgery. Andy Murray has reached the final of 21 Masters tournaments out of which he has won 14 titles. He won his first title at the 2008 ATP Cincinnati Open by defeating Serbian Novak Djokovic. Murray had a successful 2016 season, reaching the final of five Masters events (won – three and lost – two). The two-time Olympic champion has failed to win a single ATP Masters 1000 title since 2016.

Tournaments – Cincinnati Masters, Madrid Open, Miami Open, Canadian Open, Shanghai Masters, Paris Masters, and Italian Open.

Roger Federer (7)

Swiss legend Roger Federer won his first Masters title in the 2002 Hamburg Open (clay). This was his second final having lost the Miami Open final to Andre Agassi in the year. Federer has won seven Cincinnati Masters 1000 titles, including a record eight Cincinnati final appearances.

He retired from professional tennis in 2022 after playing in the Laver Cup alongside Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic.

Tournaments – Cincinnati Masters, Madrid Open, Miami Masters, Canadian Open, Shanghai Masters, Paris Masters, Indian Wells, and Hamburg Open.

Andre Agassi (7)

Agassi has won 17 Masters Series singles titles, currently the fourth highest of all-time, behind Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, and Roger Federer. The American international won his first Masters title at the 1990 Miami Open defeating Swedish legend Stefan Edberg. Agassi lost to Edberg at the 1990 Indian Wells Masters but made a good comeback by winning the next Masters title. He won his last Masters title at the 2004 Cincinnati Masters by defeating Lleyton Hewitt of Australia.

Tournaments – Cincinnati Masters, Madrid Open, Miami Masters, Canadian Open, Paris Masters, Indian Wells, and Italian Open.

Novak Djokovic (9)

Novak Djokovic has won 38 ATP Masters 1000 titles overall and a record 27 titles on hard courts. In 2018 he became the first tennis player in history to win all nine Masters tournaments. In 2015, Djokovic reached eight Masters finals and won six out of them. The Serbian won his first title at the 2007 Miami Open and has since won titles in all years, apart from 2010 and 2017. 

Tournaments – Cincinnati Masters, Madrid Open, Miami Masters, Canadian Open, Shanghai Masters, Paris Masters, Italian Open, Indian Wells, and Monte Carlo Masters.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.