Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


ATP Finals: List of players with most consecutive titles won

Published at :November 12, 2023 at 6:30 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy :

Rizu Shukla

Novak Djokovic is the only active player in the list.

The world's top eight players will square off at the ATP Finals 2023 at the Pala Alpitour in Turin to close the tennis season. The season-ending tournament is all set to begin on November 12 and will run until November 19. After defeating Casper Ruud in the 2022 final, Serbian sensation and 24-time Grand Slam champion Novak Djokovic secured his sixth Nitto ATP Finals crown last year to become the oldest champion. 

Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer share the record for the most singles titles with six, while John McEnroe and Peter Fleming hold the record for the most doubles titles with seven each. But the question is who has won the most consecutive titles? As the ATP Finals are knocking on the doors, let us have a look at the players to have won the back-to-back titles at the event.

Novak Djokovic (4 titles)

Novak Djokovic has won back-to-back four ATP Finals titles from 2012 to 2015. The Serbian has succeeded in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2022. Last year, by defeating Casper Ruud, he also became the oldest player (35 years and five months) to win the trophy.

He is also the only active player to have won the titles in consecutive seasons. Djokovic is also the player to have won the most matches at the event (59) following Roger Federer (46) and has played the second most editions (15) after the Swiss star's 17 editions.

Ivan Lendl (3 titles)

Ivan Lendl has grabbed three ATP Finals titles back-to-back from 1985 to 1987. From 1980 to 1988, Lendl made it to nine straight finals at the Nitto ATP Finals, where he took home five titles in 1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, and 1987. Lendl's era-long dominance was most evident at the year-end championships. Having made nine consecutive appearances in the championship round, he has a 39–10 win–loss record.

Ilie Nastase (3 titles)

Ilie Năstase has won three consecutive ATP Finals titles from 1971 to 1973. The Romanian has won the season-ending title four times in 1971, 1972, 1973, and 1975. During his era, the competition used to be known as Masters Grand Prix.

He finished 1972 as the World No. 2 and won his second straight year-end championship, thanks to the ATP Finals and a US Open Trophy. In 1973, he ended his tennis season at the top of the ATP Rankings.

Björn Borg (2 titles)

In 1979 and 1980, Björn Borg won the ATP Finals twice in a row, the only times the Swedish grabbed these titles. He finished the year ranked as the top player in the world in the ATP rankings for both 1979 and 1980. He was the ATP Player of the Year from 1976 to 1980.

Borg was regarded by most experts as the best player in the world and concluded the year ranked No. 1 in the ATP Point standings in 1980.

Ivan Lendl (2 titles)

Ivan Lendl also owns the record for winning two consecutive season-ending trophies, in 1981 and 1982, in addition to his record of three straight ATP Finals victories. The Czech American former star has five trophies under his belt (1985, 1986, 1987), tied with Pete Sampras.

John McEnroe (2 titles)

John McEnroe's two back-to-back titles from 1983 and 1984 qualify him for the list out of his three titles. He won his first title in 1978. McEnroe fared well in the year-end events, taking home eight singles titles and seven doubles trophies, both records. He was named the ITF World Champion and the ATP Player of the Year three times each in 1981, 1983, and 1984.

Pete Sampras (2 titles)

Among his five ATP Finals championships, Pete Sampras held the ATP Finals Trophy back-to-back in 1996 and 1997. He won his first in 1991, followed by his second title in 1994 and last in 1997. With five titles, the American legend also holds the record to win the second most ATP Finals titles, tied with Llie Nastase.

Lleyton Hewitt (2 titles)

Lleyton Hewitt won the ATP Finals titles in 2001 and 2002. In 2001 on November 19, he was ranked as high as No. 1. His accomplishments include the Wimbledon singles titles in 2001 and 2002, the US Open men's doubles trophy in 2000, the back-to-back Tour Finals victories in 2001 and 2002, and the Davis Cup.

Roger Federer (2 titles)

With six ATP Finals titles under his belt, Roger Federer is tied with Novak Djokovic for the record. Among his six titles, two came in 2003 and 2004. He again won back-to-back trophies in 2006 and 2007 and in 2010 and 2011. In addition to winning five straight titles at Wimbledon and the US Open, he also won three of the four majors, the ATP Finals in 2004, 2006, and 2007.