Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

French Open 2024

All records set by Carlos Alcaraz after winning 2024 French Open

Published at :June 11, 2024 at 1:33 AM
Modified at :June 11, 2024 at 1:33 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : X/@rolandgarros)

Shashank Tripathi

Carlos Alcaraz will be shifting his focus to the grass season.

Spanish tennis star Carlos Alcaraz defeated Germany’s Alexander Zverev to win his maiden Roland Garros title on Sunday.

The two tennis stars played a five-set marathon at Court Philippe-Chartrier, which lasted more than four hours. After three sets, Zverev was in pole position to win the match as he was leading 1-2 in set score. However, the 21-year-old flipped the match upside down to win his first clay court Major memorably.

Also Read: ‘It’s been unbelievable’ – Carlos Alcaraz reacts after winning maiden French Open title

Stade Roland Garros resonated with the chants of his name as he lifted the prestigious Roland Garros accolade. Some tennis enthusiasts claimed that a new Rafael Nadal has arrived in the game, while a few stated that it’s too early to assume or predict anything.

However, the young Spaniard has proved that he’s destined for greatness. Thus, without further ado, let’s take a look at the record Carlos Alcaraz created with his historic French Open triumph:

  • Carlos Alcaraz has become the first tennis player in the Open Era to win his first three Grand Slam titles on three different surfaces.
  • The Spaniard has become the first player since 2000 to win the French Open before turning 22. It was last done by Rafael Nadal in 2005. He’s the second-youngest player to win the French Open in the 21st century.
  • Alcaraz is only the fifth active tennis player with three or more Grand Slam titles. The other four are Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka.
  • Carlos Alcaraz has become the youngest player to win a Grand Slam title on all three surfaces. He’s also the youngest tennis star to win three different Majors.
  • The 21-year-old is only the seventh tennis player to win a title on all surfaces. The other six are Rafael Nadal, Mats Wilander, Jimmy Connors, Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, and Andre Agassi.
  • Alcaraz is also the seventh Spanish player to win the Roland Garros title in the Open Era. He won the claycourt Major after Rafael Nadal, Andres Gimeno, Sergi Bruguera, Carlos Moya, Albert Costa, and Juan Carlos Ferrero.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram