Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Madrid Open 2024

Top five women's singles players with most titles won at WTA Madrid Open

Published at :May 6, 2024 at 2:26 AM
Modified at :May 8, 2024 at 6:38 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : @WTA/X)

Gourav Samal

Petra Kvitova stands atop of the list with three titles.

Founded in 2002, the Madrid Open remains one of the key tennis tournaments throughout the year, falling under both the ATP Tour and WTA Tour. The ATP Masters 1000 and WTA 1000 event, played on clay courts, is held at La Caja Mágica in Madrid, Spain.

Until 2008, the tournament featured only two categories: men’s singles and men’s doubles matches. Starting in 2009, women’s categories were introduced. Dinara Safina of Russia became the first women’s singles champion, while the team of Cara Black and Liezel Huber claimed the women’s doubles championship.

In this article, we will take a look at the top five women’s singles players with most titles at WTA Madrid Open. 

Women’s singles players with most titles won at Madrid Open

5. Dinara Safina – 1

Dinara Safina became the first women’s player to win the women’s singles title, in 2009, at the Madrid Open by defeating Caroline Wozniacki in 6-2, 6-4 sets. She was then part of two more editions in the following years but wasn’t able to cross the second round. 

Iga Swiatek, Aravane Rezai, Maria Sharapova, Kiki Bertens, and Ons Jabeur are the other women’s players who have also won the title once in their career. 

4. Aryna Sabalenka – 2 

The winner of the 2023 edition became the fourth woman player in the tournament’s history to win the singles title twice in her career. Her first championship victory was in 2021, where she defeated Ashleigh Barty of Australia in sets of 6-0, 3-6, 6-4.

She secured her second title by overcoming Poland’s Iga Świątek in sets of 6–3, 3–6, 6–3. Before her first title at the event, she had participated in the tournament twice but had never advanced beyond the first round.

Trending Indian Sports articles

3. Simona Halep – 2

Simona Halep became the second woman’s singles player to successfully defend her title at the Madrid Open in 2017, defeating Kristina Mladenovic in sets of 7-5, 6-7, 6-2. Prior to this victory, she had secured the title in 2016 by overcoming Dominika Cibulková in straight sets of 6-2, 6-4.

Alongside her two championship titles, Halep has also earned two runner-up titles at the tournament. Additionally, she boasts two quarterfinal finishes and one third-round finish. Her journey began in 2010 when she was defeated in the first qualifying round.

2. Serena Williams – 2

The ever-dominant Serena Williams is also on the list. The women’s singles player clinched two titles. She won her first title in 2012 by defeating Victoria Azarenka in sets of 6–1, 6–3.

In 2013, she faced Maria Sharapova in the tournament’s final and defeated her in sets of 6–1, 6–4. Besides her title runs, Williams has one semifinal finish and one quarterfinal finish in the tournament.

1. Petra Kvitova – 3

Petra Kvitova remains the only women’s singles player to win the Madrid Open title thrice in the history of the event. She bagged her first title in the year 2011 by defeating Victoria Azarenka in 7-6, 6-4 sets.  

She then went on to win her second in 2015 by defeating Svetlana Kuznetsova in 6-1, 6-2 sets. 

Her third title came in 2018 when she outclassed Kiki Bertens in 7-6, 4-6, 6-3 sets. She also has one semi final and two quarter final finishes to her name in the tournament. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram