ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: List of all the award winners and other important records from CWC

November 19 2023
Australia won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Australia defeated India in the finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

Australia defeated India in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 on November 19. The final was played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This is the sixth time Australia have won the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy.

On a difficult pitch, Australia had won the toss and elected to bowl first. India got off to a shaky start, losing Shubman Gill for four runs, but Rohit Sharma responded with a 31-ball 47 with four fours and three sixes.

Australia’s all-round performance in the finals was outstanding, as they kept India to 240 runs after winning the toss and opting to bowl first. The main scorers were Virat Kohli (54), KL Rahul (66), and Rohit Sharma (47).

Though Indian bowlers struck early, Australia were reduced to 47/3 at one point. But Travis Head came up big and contributed 192 runs for the 4th wicket with Marnus Labuschagne (58*) to help the team win. Travis Head, player of the match, made 137 with 15 fours and four sixes.

Australia won the match by six wickets despite losing Head just at the doorstep of victory. This was Australia’s sixth ODI World Cup win, with others coming in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

Here are some important records from ICC Cricket World Cup 2023:

Travis Head was named player of the match for his brilliant hundred, and Virat Kohli was named the player of the tournament.

Kohli won the award for his 765 runs in 11 matches, with 3 centuries and 6 fifties to his name. He averaged 95.62 and had a strike rate of 90.31, with the best score of 117. Virat also took one wicket in the World Cup as well.

Some of the records that was set in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Most runs: Virat Kohli (765)

Highest individual score: Glenn Maxwell (201*)

Most centuries: Quinton de Kock (4)

Most sixes: Rohit Sharma (31)

Most wickets: Mohd Shami (24)

Best figures: Mohd Shami (7/57)

Most WK dismissals: Quinton de Kock (20)

Most outfield catches: Daryl Mitchell (11)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.