ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Twitter reacts as Virat Kohli, KL Rahul show resilience to help India defeat Australia in their CWC 2023 opener

Saurabh AnandSaurabh Anand

October 8 2023
Twitter reacts as Virat Kohli, KL Rahul show resilience to help India defeat Australia in their CWC 2023 opener

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul added 165 runs for the 5th wicket partnership to take India out of trouble.

In a low-scoring thriller at Chepauk, Team India defeated Australia by 6 wickets to begin their ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 winning campaign on a winning note. India’s crisis man Virat Kohli once again rose to the occasion and played a marvelous knock to give India their opening win in the tournament. Former Indian captain Virat Kohli (85) smashed his 67th half-century in a crunch situation for Team India. Along with Kohli, KL Rahul also contributed immensely to the Indian win. 

‘Chase master’ wins it for India

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul (97*) have been trending on social media for their match-winning partnership for the 4th wicket at Chepauk. Fans on social media have showered praises on Virat and Rahul. Team India had a poor start to their chase as they lost their first three wickets inside three overs. Ishan Kishan (0), Rohit Sharma (0), and Shreyas Iyer (0) were back in the hut early giving India a big headache in a 200-run chase against Australia. 

Here’s how twitter reacted:

Troubled start for Australia

Australian captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to bat first. Bumrah got Mitchell Marsh early but Steve Smith (46) and David Warner (41) added 69 runs for the 2nd wicket. Just when the Australian innings looked back on track, Ravindra Jadeja (3/28) struck thrice in quick succession. Jadeja sent Smith back with a classical left-arm spin delivery. He then got Marnus Labuschagne (27) and Alex Carey (0) cheaply to send Australia on the back foot. 

Australia lacked a big partnership from their middle order and Indian spinners made full use of vulnerability in their batting order. Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav (2/42) and Ravichandran Ashwin (1/34) also were amongst the wickets. Team India will be playing against Afghanistan in their next encounter in Delhi on 11th October while Australia will be taking on South Africa at Ekana Stadium in Lucknow on 12th October.  

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.