Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

AFCON- Africa Cup of Nations

Ivory Coast's AFCON 2023 winning side by current club & league

Published at :February 12, 2024 at 4:27 PM
Modified at :February 12, 2024 at 4:27 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AFCON)

Rajarshi Shukla

The hosts beat Nigeria 2-1 to clinch the trophy

After a mediocre group stage, Ivory Coast fired manager Jean-Louis Gasset mid-tournament and appointed assistant Emerse Fae in his place, defeated Senegal on penalties in the round of 16, and managed to equalise the score against Mali in the final moments before winning that quarterfinal in extra time… After the most incredible run, Ivory Coast managed to win the Africa Cup of Nations title.

Ivory Coast won their third Africa Cup of Nations title, defeating Nigeria 2-1 thanks to a heroic comeback led by Sebastian Haller.

Nine minutes from time, Haller completed an incredible comeback, volleying home the winner that thrilled the host team’s supporters in Abidjan. Franck Kessie had earlier cancelled off William Troost-Ekong’s first-half header.

Max Gradel and Simon Adingra both missed good first-half opportunities as Ivory Coast got off to a strong start. Seven minutes before halftime, though, Troost-Ekong gave Nigeria the lead with an acknowledgement of his own, his third goal of the competition.

The Super Eagles had won all 22 of their prior games in the competition when they took the lead, but the hosts responded just after the hour when Kessie nodded in Adringa’s corner.

Adingra played a role once more as the Elephants grabbed a thrilling victory in the 81st minute. Haller was able to poke past Stanley Nwabali at the back post after the Brighton & Hove Albion winger crossed the ball.

Ivory Coast players by clubs and leagues

Goalkeepers: Yahia Fofana (Angers/FRA), Charles Folly (Asec Mimosas), Badra Ali (Sekhukhune United/RSA)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Galatasaray/TUR), Willy Boly (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Ismael Diallo (Hajduk Split,/CRO), Ousmane Diomandé (Sporting Lisbon/POR), Ghislain Konan (Al-Feiha/KSA), Evans N’dicka (Roma/ITA), Odilon Kossonou (Bayer Leverkusen/GER) Wilfried Singo (Monaco/FRA)

Midfielders: Jean-Thierry Amani Lazare (Union Saint-Gilloise/BEL), Idrissa Doumbia (Alanyaspor/TUR), Seko Fofana (Al Nassr/KSA), Ibrahim Sangaré (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Franck Kessié (Al-Ahli/KSA), Jean-Michael Seri (Hull/ENG).

Forwards: Simon Adingra (Brighton/ENG), Jonathan Bamba (Celta Vigo/ESP), Jérémie Boga (Nice/FRA), Sébastien Haller (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Karim Konaté (RB Salzburg/AUT), Christian Kouamé (Fiorentina/ITA), Jean-Philippe Krasso (Red Star Belgrade/SRB), Max-Alain Gradel (Gaziantep/TUR), Oumar Diakité (Reims/FRA), Nicolas Pépé (Trabzonspor/TUR)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.