Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

MLS- Major League Soccer

Major League Soccer (MLS): List of all winners

Published at :February 14, 2024 at 1:17 PM
Modified at :February 14, 2024 at 1:17 PM
Post Featured Image

Manav Chowdhury

The inaugural MLS season took place in 1996

Major League Soccer’s history may not go back as far as most other leagues, but American and Canadian soccer has already seen many memorable teams provide many memorable moments with trophies on the line.  The league comprises 29 teams – 26 in the United States and 3 in Canada – since the 2023 season. The inaugural season took place in 1996 with ten teams.

The MLS regular season typically starts in late February or early March and runs through mid-October, with each team playing 34 games. Eighteen teams compete in the postseason MLS Cup Playoffs in late October and November, culminating in the league’s championship game, the MLS Cup.

MLS Cup is the league’s top trophy, even with the rise in importance of the Supporters’ Shield over the years. At the end of it all, a full season comes down to just one final game: the MLS Cup final.

The team with the most MLS Cup wins is the LA Galaxy, who have won 5 MLS Cups. The team with the second most MLS Cup wins is DC United, who have won 4 MLS Cups. The team with the third most MLS Cup wins is the Columbus Crew, who have won 3 MLS Cups and are currently the defending champions of MLS. Here we look at the list of Major League Soccer winners:

Winners of Major League Soccer:

1996: DC United

1997: DC United

1998: Chicago Fire

1999: DC United

2000: Kansas City Wizards

2001: San Jose Earthquakes

2002: LA Galaxy

2003: San Jose Earthquakes

2004: DC United

2005: LA Galaxy

2006: Houston Dynamo

2007: Houston Dynamo

2008: Columbus Crew

2009: Real Salt Lake

2010: Colorado Rapids

2011: LA Galaxy

2012: LA Galaxy

2013: Sporting KC

2014: LA Galaxy

2015: Portland Timbers

2016: Seattle Sounders FC

2017: Toronto FC

2018: Atlanta United FC

2019: Seattle Sounders FC

2020: Columbus Crew

2021: New York City FC

2022: Los Angeles FC

2023: Columbus Crew

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.