Quick Reads

Top 10 clubs with most Community Shield titles


July 30 2022
Most community shield titles

The first edition of the prestigious completion was held back in 1908.

The FA Community Shield is seen as a significant fixture and kicks off the new football season in England. The latest edition of the tournament saw 2021 FA Cup winners Liverpool beat the 2021 Premier League champions Manchester City 3-1 to lift the FA Community Shield 2022.

The Community Shield is a brilliant way to start the season with a win and a trophy. It takes a lot of effort to qualify for the fixture, to begin with. The winner of the Premier League and the winner of the FA Cup qualify for the ultimate clash. In case both trophies are won by the same team, then the second-placed team in the league table gets the nod.

The trophy has a long history and a list of winners. With the 2022-23 season coming close by the day, here is a look at the top 10 clubs with the most Community Shield titles:

10. Leeds United – 2

Leeds United have won two FA Community Shield. Their first triumph came way back in 1969-70 and the second win came during the 1992-93 season. Apart from this trophy, the club has won the English league three times. Leeds have also won the League Cup and the FA Cup once each.

9. Leicester City – 2

leicester city community shield
The Foxes win the completion in the 2021-22 season (Courtesy: Indian Express)

Leicester City is the reigning champion of the FA Community Shield after winning the 2021-22 edition against Manchester City. The Foxes entered the fixture as the FA Cup winners and got the better of the Premier League winners against major odds. LCFC is a one-time Premier League winner as well and has three League Cups and one FA Cup trophy in their locker too.  

8. Wolves – 4

Wolverhampton Wanderers, also popularly known as Wolves, are four-time winners of the Community Shield. The outfit won the trophy in 1949-50, 1954-55, 1959-60 and 1960-61. It has been a while since Wolves last won the coveted trophy and look farther than ever from competing for it in present times.

7. Chelsea – 4

The Blues have won the Community Shield 4 times (Courtesy: Football London)

Chelsea FC have four Community Shield wins as well. The London-based outfit were not always a strong force in English football until the takeover by Russian tycoon Roman Abramovich in the early 2000s. The last time Blues won this trophy was back in 2009-10 under Carlo Ancelotti and they will like to get their hands on it again in near future.

6. Manchester City – 6

Manchester City are a powerhouse in world football today and will have the chance to add another Community Shield title to their previous six wins. Since the takeover by their new owners, the Cityzens have dominated the English domestic football sphere. Their previous Community Shield win was back in 2019-20 when they won it twice consecutively.

5. Tottenham Hotspur – 7

Tottenham Hotspur may be going through a trophy drought in recent memory but the club has a rich history nonetheless. The London-based club have won the FA Community Shield seven times but their last win was way back in 1991-92. Apart from this, Spurs have two English league wins, eight FA Cup wins and four League Cup wins to their name.

4. Everton – 9

Everton FC’s present fortunes may be tough but the Merseyside club were a strong force back in the day. After all, the Toffees have nine FA Community Shield wins. The blue half of Merseyside have not won the trophy since 1995-96 and look further from winning it again than ever. At present, staying in the Premier League is a bigger priority for Frank Lampard and co.

3. Liverpool – 16

Only three clubs have won the FA Community Shield more than 10 times and one of them is Liverpool. The Reds are historically one of the most decorated English clubs and they have won this trophy a whopping 16 times. Jurgen Klopp’s men move level with Arsenal on the all time list after the 3-1 win over Manchester City in the 2022 FA Community Shield final.

2. Arsenal – 17

Arsenal last won the competition in the 2020-21 season (Courtesy: Arsenal)

The second-most successful club in this competition is Arsenal. The Gunner have 16 FA Community Shield wins. Despite their league struggles, Arsenal has a strong record in the FA Cup and thus gets more chances to win the Shield as well. Four of their 16 wins came during the 2010s after all. The last time Arsenal won the Shield was in 2020-21 under Mikel Arteta. Arsenal defeated Manchester City on penalties to lift their 17th title in 2023.

1. Manchester United – 21

Manchester United is the most successful English club when it comes to winning the FA Community Shield. The Red Devils are the only club in history to win it more than 20 times. With 21 Community Shield wins, the Red Devils are well ahead of the competition. However, Erik ten Hag, their new manager, will hope to win the trophy again since the club last won it back in 2016-17 under former manager Jose Mourinho. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.

**The article was last updated on August 06, 2023.