Profile Photo


  • 1Reviews
  • 10.0 Rating




The AFC Cup is an annual international association football competition between domestic clubs run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). Qualification to the competition is available to clubs from AFC-affiliated countries that fall into the AFC's 'developing nations' category as laid out in their 'Vision Asia' document Countries which are 'emerging' nations are eligible to participate in the AFC Cup qualifying play-off, where as countries which are 'mature' nations are entered into the AFC Champions League. The 'developing nations' are the fourteen 'next-best' countries that lie outside the top-14 countries in the AFC region which send their clubs to the more prestigious AFC Champions League. Before the reform in competition format that took place in 2009, the two competitions were not interlinked as the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League are in Europe, and AFC Champions League losers did not compete in the Cup. Following the reform in 2009, finalists of the AFC Cup meeting AFC's criteria and certain other eligible teams are allowed to compete in the qualifying round of AFC Champions League with the losers demoted to play in the AFC Cup.


Address Asia

Key Links & Social Media


Org / Governing Body AFC-The Asian Football Confederation
Start Date 0000-00-00
End Date 0000-00-00
Year Founded 2004
Defending Champion Johor Darul Tazim Football Club
TV Partner Fox Sports
  • 10 Reviews
  • 2020-02-20 17:15:43
Mohun bagan vs club Valencia goal by Duffy AFC cup 2017 playoff first leg
Bengaluru FC vs Mohun Bagan (2-1) Full Highlights AFC Cup 2017
Go to Top