Delhi Dynamos had reached the semi-finals last season under World Cup-winning coach Gianluca Zambrotta but are re-building this season.

A first-half goal by forward David Gonzales handed Spanish outfit Real Oviedo a 1-0 win over Indian Super League side Delhi Dynamos at the Estadio Carlos Tartiere.

Sticking with the ISL regulations of playing five foreigners in the starting XI, head coach Miguel Angel Portugal handed starts to defender Gabriel Cichero, Edu Moya, Matias Mirabaje, Jeroen Lumu and Guyon Fernandes. While Timothy Munmun Lugun made his way into the lineup after missing out against Atletico Astorga.

It was the home team that knocked on the doors in the initial stage, but a fine double save by goalkeeper Albino Gomes kept them at bay. Veteran defender Cichero then came to the rescue as his last-ditch tackle five minutes later helped Delhi keep the scoreline intact.


Delhi Dynamos begin pre-season tour with 5-2 defeat against Spanish club

Delhi Dynamos’ Elite Youth Teams set to feature in the I-League

Everything you need to know about Hero Indian Super League 2017-18

FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 Full Coverage

Real Oviedo’s persistence paid off though in the 21st minute when Gonzales found his way past the defence to slot home the ball past a helpless Albino.

Dynamos looked a lot more stable and co-ordinated better in the closing minutes of the first half, but failed to threaten Oviedo’s goal as the home side headed into the break with the advantage.

Portugal made 8 changes to the Dynamos line-up in the second half. Brazilian midfielder Paulinho made his way onto the pitch and he almost made an instant impact, but his shot from distance hit the crossbar.

Despite having more possession in the second half, Oviedo rarely threatened Delhi’s defence.

With little chances to show for in the final 45 minutes, the game finished 1-0 in favour of the Spanish Second Division outfit.

Delhi Dynamos Starting XI: Albino Gomes, Sena Ralte, Gabriel Cichero, Pratik Chowdhary, Munmun Lugun, Edu Moya, Matias Mirabaje, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Jeroen Lumu, David Ngaihte, Guyon Fernandes.