Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

ISL- Indian Super League

Looking back at all the ISL finals

Published at :May 1, 2024 at 6:11 PM
Modified at :May 1, 2024 at 6:11 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : ISL Media)


The Islanders and the Mariners are set to clash in this season’s final for the coveted ISL trophy.

Mohun Bagan and Mumbai City FC will be playing against each other in the final of the 2023-24 Indian Super League. Both sides have been head and shoulders above the rest of the competition and will meet once again in another high-stakes contest after the League Winners’ Shield deciding fixture earlier in the campaign.

The final of the ISL is a grand occasion. Judging by the clashes over the years, it is hard to predict which team will come out on top at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on Saturday, 4 May 2024.

However, it presents a perfect time to look back at the ISL finals over the years to have an idea of what is in store for the fans of Indian football as Mohun Bagan and Mumbai City FC prepare to lock horns for the trophy:

2014: Kerala Blasters FC 0 – 1 Atletico de Kolkata

The final of the inaugural season of the Indian Super League saw Kerala Blasters FC take on Atletico de Kolkata at the DY Patil Stadium. It was a sensational occasion for Indian football with glitz and glamour surrounding the final dominating the headlines. The Kolkata-based club emerged winners, thanks to an injury-time winner from Mohammed Rafique.

2015: FC Goa 2 – 3 Chennaiyin FC

The second season of the Indian Super League was as entertaining as the first one but saw different finalists this time. FC Goa took on Chennaiyin FC in the final that was played at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa. An injury-time winner from Stiven Mendoza saw the Marina Machans secure their first-ever ISL trophy and emerge as the winners of the competition after playing a five-goal thriller against the Gaurs.

2016: Atletico de Kolkata 1 (4) – (3) 1 Kerala Blasters FC

Credit: ISL

In the third season of the Indian Super League, finalists of the inaugural season in Atletico de Kolkata and Kerala Blasters FC met once again for the trophy. With nothing to separate the sides after extra-time, the match went into penalties. In the end, Atletico de Kolkata won the first-ever ISL final shootout by 4-3 to dash the hopes of the Yellow Army and become two-time winners of the league competition.

2017-18: Bengaluru FC 2 – 3 Chennaiyin FC

The number of teams in the Indian Super League increased in the 2017-18 season with Bengaluru FC being one of the new additions. The Blues took the league by surprise and stormed into the final of the playoffs only to be pipped to the title by Chennaiyin FC by a 3-2 scoreline. The Marina Machans secured their second ISL trophy, thanks to goals from Mailson Alves and Raphael Augusto.

2018-19: Bengaluru FC 1 – 0 FC Goa

Following their runners-up position in the 2017-18 season, Bengaluru FC reached the final of the 2018-19 campaign and got over the line to secure their first-ever ISL trophy. They beat FC Goa by 1-0, thanks to Rahul Bheke’s goal deep into the second half of extra-time. This was Goa’s second defeat in an ISL final.

2019-20: ATK 3 – 1 Chennaiyin FC

Credit: ISL

Atletico de Kolkata were rebranded as ATK and went on to win the 2019-20 edition of the Indian Super League. The final saw the two most successful teams in the competitions square off for a third title in their history. Eventually, the Kolkata-based outfit defeated the Marina Machans convincingly by a 3-1 score, thanks to a brace by Javi Hernandez and a goal from Edu Garcia.

2020-21: Mumbai City FC 2 – 1 ATK Mohun Bagan

Credit: ISL

Mumbai City FC dominated the 2020-21 season of the Indian Super League, winning both the Shield and the Trophy. They defeated ATK Mohun Bagan 2-1 in the final, courtesy of a late goal by Bipin Singh in the 90th minute.

2021-22: Kerala Blasters FC 1 (1) – (3) 1 Hyderabad FC 

Credit: ISL

Hyderabad FC turned their fortunes around under Manolo Marquez and went on to win the 2021-22 ISL trophy by defeating Kerala Blasters FC in the final after penalties. It was the third final defeat for the Yellow Army and the Nizam’s first-ever trophy.

2022-23: ATK Mohun Bagan 2 (4) – (3) 2 Bengaluru FC

ATK Mohun Bagan won the 2022-23 Indian Super League trophy by defeating Bengaluru FC in the final. It was the first time when two consecutive ISL playoff finals were decided on penalties. Interestingly, the two goals ATKMB (now Mohun Bagan SG) scored in the regulation period were also penalties.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.