Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

ISL- Indian Super League

ISL: Top five clubs with longest goalscoring streak

Published at :June 19, 2024 at 6:20 PM
Modified at :June 19, 2024 at 6:20 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : ISL media)

Preethi Raj

These times have the happy knack of finding the back of the net consistently.

The Indian Super League (ISL) has become a stage for offensive fireworks, where teams etch their names in history with incredible streaks of consecutive matches finding the net. These consistent goalscorers aren’t just filling the back of the net – they’re weaving themselves into the fabric of the ISL’s legacy.

Let’s consider Mumbai City, for instance. Their record-breaking run stands as a testament to their relentless, attacking style. They play with a hunger for goals that’s become synonymous with their identity.

FC Goa, under a revolving door of head coaches, have consistently displayed a resolute commitment to attacking football. This unwavering philosophy has translated into impressive goalscoring streaks, proving that beautiful football can lead to consistent results.

These teams, along with others, have redefined what it means to dominate offensively in the ISL. Their success isn’t just about racking up points and trophies, it’s about showcasing the beauty and excitement of attacking football.

In this article let’s dive into the longest scoring streaks over the last decade in ISL.

5. NorthEast United FC – 14 matches

NorthEast United cemented their place in ISL folklore with a 14-match goalscoring streak, matching the record held by Kerala Blasters. This run unfolded under the leadership of Cesar Farias, although it began with a seemingly disheartening 3-1 defeat to FC Goa.

Their phenomenal display of attacking prowess proved to be a major turning point for NorthEast United. The 14-game streak fueled their performance in the 2015 ISL season, propelling them to a strong finish and a significant 20 points.

Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC, and Delhi Dynamos FC have also managed to score in 14 consecutive matches.

4. Kerala Blasters – 14 matches

Kerala Blasters added their name to the illustrious company in the longest goalscoring streaks. Their journey began under Dutch manager Rene Meulensteen, with a 1-1 draw against Mumbai City igniting the spark. However, Meulensteen’s departure in January 2018 ushered in a change of leadership, with former Blasters goalkeeper David James stepping into the head coach role.

This transition could have disrupted the team’s rhythm, but the Yellow Army displayed remarkable resilience. Under the guidance of David James, they continued to find the net with impressive consistency. The attacking momentum they built under Meulensteen remained potent, propelling them up the table in the 2017-18 ISL season.

Their 14-match scoring streak was a significant factor in their climb to a commendable sixth-place finish, accumulating 25 points from 18 matches. While their scoring spree was eventually halted with a goalless draw against Chennaiyin FC, Kerala Blasters’ achievement deserves recognition.

3. Mumbai City – 15 matches

Talking the ISL by storm this season, Mumbai City etched their name even deeper into the league’s history with a remarkable 15-match goalscoring streak. This feat stands as their second-longest run, achieved under the leadership of newly-appointed head coach Petr Kratky.

Taking the reins midway through the season, Kratky didn’t miss a beat. He seamlessly built upon the strong foundation laid by his predecessor Des Buckingham, quickly integrating the existing tactics into his vision.

From the moment Kratky took the helm, Mumbai transformed into an aggressive force, showcasing a relentless never-give-up attitude. Their offensive prowess ignited with a resounding 3-0 victory against Chennaiyin at the Mumbai Football Arena, marking the beginning of their historic streak.

That momentum carried them to the ISL final, where they continued to find the net with impressive consistency. Kratky’s impact extended beyond the 15-match scoring run. He masterfully guided Mumbai City to their second ISL title.

The Islanders dominated the final against Mohun Bagan, securing a decisive 3-1 victory. This remarkable 15-match streak under Kratky stands as a testament to Mumbai’s unwavering commitment to attacking football and their ability to adapt to new leadership.

2. FC Goa – 16 matches

FC Goa rewrote ISL history with a staggering 16-match goalscoring streak, solidifying their reputation for mesmerizing possession-based football. This incredible run began under head coach Carlos Pena, even though their opening match against Mumbai City resulted in a surprising 4-1 defeat. The Gaurs, led by a former FC Goa player as coach, persevered and secured an impressive 27 points from 20 matches. Despite their strong performance, they narrowly missed out on a playoff berth.

However, the story doesn’t end there. The arrival of Spanish head coach Manolo Marquez ushered in a new chapter. Under his guidance, Goa continued their goalscoring streak, reaching the semi-finals for the first time in three years.

This period was marked by an impressive 12-match unbeaten run. Players like Noah Sadaoui and Carlos Martinez formed a potent attacking duo, consistently finding the net in the opening three fixtures of the season. FC Goa’s remarkable journey was halted by a 0-0 draw against Bengaluru FC, marking the conclusion of their 16-match scoring spree.

1. Mumbai City FC – 28 matches

The crown jewel of ISL goalscoring streaks belongs to none other than Mumbai City. Under the masterful guidance of their former head coach Des Buckingham, the Islanders carved their names into history with an astonishing 28-match run, where they found the back of the net consistently.

This record-breaking feat stretched over a full year, a testament to their unwavering attacking dominance. Buckingham’s arrival in the 2021-22 season was a catalyst for change. He instilled his attacking philosophy in the squad, transforming them into an offensive unstoppable force. Despite narrowly missing out on the playoffs that season, the seeds of dominance were firmly sown.

The spark ignited with a 1-1 draw against NorthEast United, but it was merely the opening act. What followed was a masterclass in attacking football. Mumbai found the net in every remaining league match. Mumbai embarked on an unprecedented journey, starting their season unbeaten in their first 18 matches.

This dominance culminated in their second League Winners’ Shield, a trophy awarded to the team with the most points in the league phase. However, even the most incredible runs eventually come to an end. Mumbai City’s historic streak was halted by a 0-1 defeat to East Bengal.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.