Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Indian Football

Punjab FC, East Bengal players headline RFDL 2024 Team of the Tournament

Published at :May 20, 2024 at 7:43 PM
Modified at :May 20, 2024 at 7:43 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Reliance Foundation Youth Sports)

Gourav Samal

Punjab FC lifted this edition of the RFDL.

The recently concluded 2024 Reliance Foundation Development League (RFDL) witnessed some challenging matches where Punjab FC had the last laugh by winning the trophy by defeating East Bengal FC by 3-2 goals at the Reliance Corporate Park Football Ground, Ghansoli, Navi Mumbai. 

The championship had Bengaluru FC, Muthoot FA, East Bengal FC and Punjab FC in the semi-final round. In the first semi-final Punjab defeated Bengaluru, while in the second semi-final East Bengal defeated Muthoot FA to book their spot in the final. 

Here are the top 11 players who made it to the team of the tournament banking on their performances. 

GK – Sujay S (Roots SC)

Although Roots FC couldn’t make it to the semi-final stage of the tournament as they remained second in Group B of the National Group stage fixture, their goalkeeper Sujay S displayed some promising skills that helped his team win some crucial matches. He was also awarded with the Golden Glove award. 

LB – Amarjit Singh (Punjab FC)

A captain is the team’s biggest cheerleader on the field. Punjab’s captain Amarjit was flamboyant with his tackles at the backline and his guidance on the field to his fellow players which helped his team win the title. 

CB – Adil Abdulla (Muthoot FA)

Muthoot FA’s Adil was their best performer in the semi-final and the third-place match. He came in as a substitute in both the games, and found the back of the net once in each of the matches which helped his team to take the match into penalties. 

CB – Joseph Justin (East Bengal FC)

Apart from his performance at the backline, Joseph made some crucial runs on the field towards the front end and scored a crucial goal for his side in the final match and gave them a lead in the second half till it was outclassed by the Punjab players.  

RB – Suman Dey (East Bengal FC)

He was the other East Bengal defender who looked to control the ball both at the back end and the front end. He even scored a goal in the semi-final match against Muthoot FA in the 76th minute that helped his side take a 3-2 lead in the match till it was equalized by Adil Abdulla. 

RM – Mohammed Rishad Gafoor (Muthoot FA)

Gafoor controlled the midfield for Muthoot FA throughout the tournament. The player who generally loves moving and taking chances, scored five goals in the National Group stage.

CM – Vanlalpeka Guite (East Bengal FC)

After trailing by one goal in the final, Guite found the back of the net in 41st minute and helped his team to equalize before the end of first half. Unfortunately his goal went in vain as his team lost the final.

CM – Muhammad Suhail F (Punjab FC)

Punjab FC’s Muhammad Suhail was one of their best players in each of their matches in the tournament. He even received the Golden Ball award at the closing ceremony. 

LM – Ankith P (Bengaluru FC)

Ankith single handedly provided Bengaluru FC a chance of winning the third-place match as he scored two goals that helped his team take the game to penalties. He scored his first goal in the 27th minute and the second in the 40th. 

CF – Omang Dodum (Punjab FC)

12 goals in the Regional Stage matches and a crucial goal in the final made Omang Dodum one of the top players of the tournament. He was also honored with the Golden Boot award.

CF – PV Vishnu (East Bengal FC)

PV Vishnu turned out to be East Bengal FC’s star striker. His three goals in the National Stage and an important goal in the semi-final attracted the eyeballs of the football fraternity. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.