Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ISL- Indian Super League

VP Suhair joins East Bengal for undisclosed fee

Published at :August 4, 2022 at 2:38 AM
Modified at :August 4, 2022 at 3:08 AM
Post Featured Image

Sattyik Sarkar

The forward previously played for the Red & Golds in 2017.

East Bengal have roped in VP Suhair ahead of the Indian Super League 2022/23 season. The forward has signed on a three-year contract with the club which will keep him at the Kolkata giant till 2025. The player has already arrived in Kolkata and was supposed to undergo his medicals today. However, no confirmation has been received on the same.

The 30-year-old performed exceptionally well last season for NorthEast United. As a result, the Highlanders allotted a huge amount of transfer fee for the player. East Bengal meanwhile, have negotiated with NorthEast United in order to acquire the services of Suhair.

About the player

VP Suhair started his footballing career at United SC in Kolkata. In 2017, he made a move to his home city – Kerala, where he signed for Gokulam Kerala. After delivering some splendid performances for the Malabarians, Suhair shifted base to Kolkata again. The forward joined East Bengal ahead of the Calcutta Football League in 2017. His tenure at East Bengal started on a positive note, where he even went on to score a hat-trick and a few more goals in the CFL. However, an injury drifted him away from the main squad which featured in the I-League.

In 2018, Suhair was loaned to Gokulam Kerala, where he enjoyed a season of the sport. In 2019, Mohun Bagan signed him. Finally, in 2020, the forward made his Indian Super League debut. The 30-year-old spent two seasons at NorthEast United before making a comeback to East Bengal.

East Bengal’s preparations for ISL 2022/23

East Bengal have appointed Stephen Constantine as their head coach. Former Gokulam Kerala and Kerala’s Santosh Trophy winning coach Bino George will be assisting him in the process. The club has already announced the signatures of 13 Indian players. They are – Pawan Kumar, Mohammad Rakip, Mobashir Rahman, Sarthak Golui, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Pritam Singh, Souvik Chakrabarti and Amarjit Singh. Also, the club has paid a transfer fee of approximately 10 Lakhs to sign Aniket Jadhav, Khel Now reported earlier.

In addition to the aforementioned names, Wahengbam Angousana Luwang and Ankit Mukherjee have also extended their contracts. Meanwhile, Naorem Mahesh Singh, who joined on loan from Kerala Blasters last season has been signed on a permanent transfer. The signature of Ivan Gonzalez is expected to be announced soon.