The tournament taking place in Maldives between October 1 and 16.

After a year’s delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the SAFF Championship 2021 is back with its 13th edition. The biennial tournament is being played from October 1 to October 16. Organized by the South Asian Football Federation, the 2021 edition of the SAFF was initially scheduled to take place in Pakistan last year. But the pandemic and other factors pushed back the tournament by a year. Maldives will play host to the competition this year.

India are the most successful nation in the tournament with seven titles to their name. While, Maldives has won the SAFF Championship twice and Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka clinched the trophy once each. Maldives are the defending champions having beaten the Blue Tigers to win the competition in 2018.

Interestingly, Pakistan and Bhutan have withdrawn from the SAFF Championship this year meaning the tournament will only be played with five teams. Pakistan are suspended by FIFA while Bhutan refrained from travelling to the Maldives for the competition after being denied permission by their government.


All matches in the 13th edition of the SAFF Championship will take place at the National Football Stadium in Male, the capital of Maldives.

SAFF Championship 2021 Teams

1 Maldives

2 India

3 Bangladesh

4 Nepal

5 Sri Lanka

SAFF Championship 2021 Fixtures

  • October 1, 2021 – 4:00 pm – Sri Lanka 0-1 Bangladesh
  • October 1, 2021 – 9:00 pm – Nepal 1-0 Maldives
  • October 4, 2021 – 4:30 pm – Bangladesh 1-1 India
  • October 4, 2021 – 9:30 pm – Sri Lanka 2-3 Nepal
  • October 7, 2021 – 4:30 pm – India 0-0 Sri Lanka
  • October 7, 2021 – 9:30 pm – Maldives 2-0 Bangladesh
  • October 10, 2021 – 4:30 pm – Maldives 1-0 Sri Lanka
  • October 10, 2021 – 9:30 pm – Nepal 0-1 India
  • October 13, 2021 – 4:30 pm – Bangladesh 1-1 Nepal
  • October 13, 2021 – 9:30 pm – India 3-1 Maldives

Final: October 16, 2021 – 8:30 pm

Nepal 0-3 India

SAFF Championship 2021 Points Table

5Sri Lanka14032-3

The top two teams will advance to the final.


Eurosport and Eurosport HD will live telecast the SAFF Championship in India. The telecast will, however, only be available for matches involving India. T Sports will live telecast the SAFF Championship 2021 tournament in Bangladesh while Yes TV are telecasting the games live in Maldives. More details will be added once they are confirmed.

SAFF Championship 2021 – Squad of all teams


Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh, Dheeraj Singh and Vishal Kaith.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Seriton Fernandes, Chinglensana Singh, Rahul Bheke, Subhasish Bose and Mandar Rao Dessai.

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Lalengmawia, Anirudh Thapa, Sahal Abdul Samad, Jeakson Singh, Glan Martins, Suresh Singh, Liston Colaco and Yasir Mohammad.

Forwards: Manvir Singh, Rahim Ali, Sunil Chhetri and Farukh Choudhary.

Also Read: Analyzing the India squad for SAFF Championship 2021


Goalkeepers: Mohammed Faisal, Mohamed Shafeeu, Ali Najih.

Defenders: Ahmed Nooman, Hussain Sifau Yoosuf, Haisham Hassan, Akram Abdul Ghanee, Samooh Ali, Gasim Sammaam.

Midfielders: Ashad Ali, Ibrahim Aisam, Mohamed Umair, Hussain Nihan, Hamza Mohamed, Ismail Eesa, Ibrahim Waheed Hassan.

Forwards: Hassan Raaif Ahmed, Mohamed Naaim, Ibrahim Mahdhy Hussain, Assadhulla Abdulla, Ali Fasir, Ali Ashfaq, Naaiz Hassan, Ali Haisham.

Also Read: Rival Watch: India face Maldives at SAFF Championship 2021


Goalkeepers: Anisur Rahman Zico, Sahidul Alam Sohel, Ashraful Islam Rana.

Defenders: Topu Barman, Bishwanath Ghosh, Rahmat Mia, Tariq Raihan Kazi, Riyadul Hasan Rafi, Yeasin Arafat, Razaul Karim, Tutul Hossain Badsha, Mohammad Hridoy.

Midfielders: Sohel Rana, Jamal Bhuyan, Saad Uddin, Rakib Hossain, Atiqur Rahman Fahad.

Forwards: Biplo Ahamed, Mahbubur Rahman, Mohammad Ibrahim, Matin Miah, Suman Reza, Jewel Rana.

Also Read: Analyzing the Bangladesh squad for SAFF Championship 2021


Goalkeepers: Kiran Kumar Limbu, Deep Karki, Bishal Shrestha.

Defenders: Ananta Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Gautam Shrestha, Suman Aryal, Rajan Gurung, Kamal Thapa, Suraj Jeu Thakuri.

Midfielders: Ayush Ghalan, Bishal Rai, Nitin Thapa, Pujan Uperkoti, Santosh Tamang, Sujal Shrestha, Sunil Bal, Tej Tamang, Rohit Chand.

Forwards: Aashish Lama, Anjan Bista, Manish Dangi, Nawayug Shrestha, Suman Lama.

Also Read: Analyzing the Nepal national team squad for SAFF Championship

Sri Lanka

Goalkeepers: Sujan Perera, Prabath Ruwan Arunasiri, Kaveesh Fernando.

Defenders: Chamod Dilshan, Harsha Fernando, Sunil Roshan Appuhamy, Charitha Rathnayake, Duckson Puslas, Asikoor Rahuman.

Midfielders: Mohamed Musthaq, Mohamed Fazal, Marvin Hamilton, Jude Supan, Chalana Chameera, Kavindu Ishan, Dillon De Silva, Edison Figurado, Aman Faizer.

Forwards: Ahamed Waseem Razeek, Mohamed Aakib, Supun Dananjaya Wijesinghe, Rifkhan Mohamed, Mohamed Shifan.

Also Read: Analyzing the Sri Lanka national team squad for SAFF Championship

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.