Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

Quick Reads

Top five teams with most FIFA Club World Cup titles

Published at :February 13, 2022 at 12:32 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Evening Standard)


Spanish teams have dominated the competition

The 2021 FIFA Club World Cup is the 18th edition of the prestigious tournament. The competition was formed in 2000. But, it was not held between 2001 and 2004. The tournament re-launched in 2005 with a new format. A total of seven teams from six confederations, including the host nation, compete to become the club world champions. This year, Chelsea will face Palmeiras in the summit clash. Two English clubs have previously won the competition.

Spanish teams have dominated the FIFA Club World Cup since its inception. Clubs from Spain have won the tournament seven times. Real Madrid are the record champions with four titles. Their arch-rivals Barcelona are second on the list. The Blaugrana became champions on three separate occasions. Meanwhile, Brazil have had the most representatives.

Let's take a look at the top five clubs with the most FIFA Club World Cup titles.

5. Liverpool - 1 Title

Liverpool lifted the Club World Cup title in 2019 (Courtesy- DNA India)

The Reds have won the competition one time. Their solitary win came in 2019. Liverpool defeated Brazilian side Flamengo in the final. Jurgen Klopp’s team were forced to work hard for the win. Flamengo held them to a goalless draw at full-time. But, Roberto Firmino struck in extra-time to take Liverpool over the line.

Prior to this, the club played in the competition in 2005. The Premier League side made it to the final. However, they lost to Sao Paulo in the summit clash.

4. Bayern Munich - 2 Titles

German giants Bayern Munich are next on the list. They emerged as FIFA Club World Cup champions in 2013 and 2020. Both the wins came after them winning the treble in the previous season.

Bayern Munich are the most successful club in Germany, with a record number of league and cup titles. They are also the only German club to play in the competition. The Bavarians have won 31 Bundesliga, 20 DFB Pokal and six Champions League titles.

3. Corinthians - 2 Titles

Brazillian side Corinthians beat Chelsea to win Club World Cup in 2012 (Courtesy: Eurosport)

Corinthians are one of the most successful clubs in Brazilian football. They have won the FIFA Club World Cup two times. Their first win came in 2000 – the inaugural edition. They defeated fellow Brazilians Vasco da Gama in the final.

This was followed by another triumph in 2012. They defeated Champions League winners Chelsea in the showpiece. Corinthians are the only Brazilian team to win the competition on two occasions.

2. Barcelona - 3 Titles

The Blaugrana are the second-most successful club in the history of the FIFA Club World Cup. They have won the competition on three occasions. Their title triumphs came in 2009, 2011 and 2015. Barcelona also made it to the final in 2006. However, they were defeated by Brazil’s Internacional.

With the win in 2009, Barcelona became the first team to win a sextuple in football. They won the league, cup, Champions League, domestic Super Cup, European Super Cup and Club World cup in the same season. Bayern Munich replicated the feat in 2020.

Barcelona’s second win in the competition came in 2011. They defeated Brazilian outfit Santos 4-0 in the showpiece. Their third and final victory came four years later, as the Catalans defeated Argentine side River Plate in the summit clash.

1. Real Madrid - 4 Titles

The Spanish giants have won the most FIFA Club World Cup titles in history. Real Madrid are the record champions with four crowns. Los Blancos’ first triumph came in 2014. They won the competition after winning their 10th Champions League title.

This was followed by a three-peat in the competition. Real Madrid lifted the trophy for three consecutive years. Los Blancos emerged victorious in the 2016, 2017 and 2018 editions. The Spanish giants also hold the record for the most goals scored in the tournament and have found the back of the net 32 times.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.