Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Austria announce final 26-man squad for Euro 2024

Published at :June 7, 2024 at 10:25 PM
Modified at :June 7, 2024 at 10:25 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

Ralf Rangnick rejected Bayern Munich job to continue with Austria.

The 26-player Austria team for the European Championship this summer has been announced by Ralf Rangnick.

Prior to the competition in Germany, Stefan Lainer of Borussia Monchengladbach, Tobias Lawal of LASK and Thierno Ballo of Wolfsberger AC were removed from the team.

Alexander Schlager, the custodian for Red Bull Salzburg, had a knee injury in May and as a result, has not been cleared to play in the Euros.

Rangnick, a former temporary manager of Manchester United, is leading Austria to the European Championship after turning down the opportunity to join Bayern Munich.

After winning six of their eight games and finishing second in Group F behind Belgium and ahead of Sweden, his team advanced for the competition. As a result, his deal with the Austrian FA (OFB) was immediately prolonged through to the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

“It’s a decision that wasn’t easy for me. It was important to me to explain my motives to all three players in individual discussions. I did that today after the final training session,” said Rangnick.

“We discussed it together, it would simply come too soon,” Rangnick added. “His knee reacted during a weight-relieving running session. It was clear that there was no point in hoping that he would be fit to play in the next two weeks.”

Austria final 26-man squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Patrick Pentz (Brondby), Heinz Lindner (Union Saint-Gilloise), Niklas Hedl (Rapid Wien).

Defenders: Stefan Posch (Bologna), Max Wober (Borussia Monchengladbach), Philipp Lienhart (Freiburg), Kevin Danso (Lens), Phillipp Mwene (Mainz), Flavius Daniliuc (Red Bull Salzburg), Gernot Trauner (Feyenoord), Leopold Querfeld (Rapid Wien)

Midfielders: Marcel Sabitzer (Borussia Dortmund), Florian Grillitsch (Hoffenheim), Christoph Baumgartner (RB Leipzig), Konrad Laimer (Bayern Munich), Florian Kainz (Cologne), Nicolas Seiwald (RB Leipzig), Romano Schmid (Werder Bremen), Alexander Prass (Sturm Graz), Matthias Seidl (Rapid Vienna)

Forwards: Marko Arnautovic (Inter Milan), Michael Gregoritsch (Freiburg), Andreas Weimann (West Brom), Patrick Wimmer (Wolfsburg), Marco Grull (Rapid Wien), Maximilian Entrup (TSV Hartberg).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.