Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Belgium announce provisional squad for Euro 2024; Thibaut Courtois dropped

Published at :May 28, 2024 at 2:54 PM
Modified at :May 28, 2024 at 2:54 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

The Red Devils will open their Euro 2024 against Slovakia

Belgium national football team have been revealed their provisional squad in advance of the European Championship in Germany. Kevin de Bruyne and Jeremy Doku from Manchester City, Romelu Lukaku from Roma, and Leandro Trossard from Arsenal are all featured, as was to be expected.

Jan Vertonghen, the player with the most caps for Belgium, has also been chosen for the provisional team at the age of 36. Thibaut Courtois, the custodian for Real Madrid, hasn’t been called up though due to an ACL injury that has kept him out of action since last summer.

Belgium, who let the golden age pass them by without winning any significant trophies, will be travelling to Germany in the hopes of ushering in a new era under Domenico Tedesco, Roberto Martinez’s replacement.

Belgium will be trying to bounce back from their miserable World Cup performance in Qatar, as they were eliminated from an easy group that also contained Canada, Croatia, and Morocco. They were eliminated by eventual victors Italy in the quarterfinals of their previous Euro campaign.

The young Belgium team are getting ready for their first big event since losing some of their biggest stars to the contemporary era, having let a “golden generation” pass them by without winning any major awards.

But even with that, Domenico Tedesco, Roberto Martinez’s successor, will still possess an abundance of skills and knowledge to offer at Euro 2024 with players like Romelu Lukaku, Jan Vertonghen, and Kevin De Bruyne all still playing important roles.

Belgium provisional squad for Euro 2024

Goalkeeper: Casteels (Wolfsburg), Kaminski (Luton), Sels (Nottingham Forest).

Defenders: Castagne (Fulham), De Cuyper (Club Brugge), Faes (Leicester City), Meunier (Dortmund), Theate (Rennes), Vertonghen (Anderlecht), Debast (Anderlecht).

Midfielder: De Bruyne (Manchester City), O.Mangala (Nottingham Forest), Onana (Everton), Tielemans (Aston Villa), Vermeeren (Atlético Madrid), Witsel (Atletico Madrid), Vranckx (Wolfsburg).

Forward: J.Bakayoko (Eindhoven), Carrasco ( Al-Shabab), De Ketelaere (Atalanta), Doku (Manchester City), Lukaku (Roma), Lukebakio (Sevilla), Openda (RB Leipzig), Trossard (Arsenal).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.