Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Georgia announce final 26-man squad for Euro 2024; Khvicha Kvaratskhelia included

Published at :May 28, 2024 at 1:21 PM
Modified at :May 28, 2024 at 1:21 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)


The Crusaders are gearing up for their first major tournament

Willy Sagnol, the head coach of the Georgia national football team has revealed his 26-man squad that will be going to Germany. This UEFA Euro 2024 tournament will be the first major competition for this nation.

The Georgian Football Federation (GFF) have been backing the national football team for quite a while. Finally, the fruits of their commitment, the labour of the players in training and on the pitch will be realised. In Germany, during their stay for the competition, they have chosen Velbert as their base camp. Velbert is a town in the North Rhine-Westphalia area.

The manager, Willy Sagnol has been at the helm since February 2021 and under him, changes in the national side have been positive. They have been clubbed in Group F alongside opponents Czechia, Portugal and Türkiye.

In the 26-man final squad, we see Valencia‘s first team goalkeeper Giorgi Mamardashvili. Mamardashvili has played 37 LaLiga games this 2023-24 season conceding only 41 goals. The player has 13 clean sheets during that period as well.

Giorgi Kochorashvili who was also playing in Spain for LaLiga2 side Levante is on the list. The main man however has to be Khvicha Kvaratskhelia of Napoli. Kvaratskhelia made a name for himself in the 2022-23 season by helping Gli Azzurri lift the Serie A trophy with a 16-point lead over Lazio.

The Crusaders first assignment in the group stage will be taking on Türkiye on 18 June. The following list will help reveal all the names further.

Georgia’s 26-man squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Giorgi Loria (Dinamo Tbilisi), Giorgi Mamardashvili (Valencia), Luka Gugeshashvili (Qarabag)

Defenders: Guram Kashia (Slovan Bratislava), Otar Kakabadze (Cracovia), Solomon Kvirkvelia (Al-Okhdood), Lasha Dvali (APOEL), Jemal Tabidze (Panetolikos), Luka Lochoshvili (Cremonese), Giorgi Gocholeishvili (Shakhtar Donetsk), Giorgi Gvelesiani (Persepolis)

Midfielders: Jaba Kankava (Slovan Bratislava), Nika Kvekverskiri (Lech Poznan), Otar Kiteishvili (Sturm Graz), Saba Lobzhanidze (Atlanta United), Zuriko Davitashvili (Bordeaux), Giorgi Chakvetadze (Watford), Levan Shengelia (Panetlikos), Giorgi Tsitaishvili (Dinamo Batumi), Anzor Mekvabishvili (Universitatea Craiova), Giorgi Kochorashvili (Levante), Sandro Altunashvili (Wolfsberger AC)

Forwards: Giorgi Kvilitaia (APOEL), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli), Budu Zivzivadze (Karlsruher SC), Georges Mikautadze (Metz)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.