Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

World Football

How many trophies have Borussia Dortmund won in their history?

Published at :June 1, 2024 at 9:32 PM
Modified at :June 1, 2024 at 9:32 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : DFL/Bundesliga)

Samannay Sen

Die Schwarzgelben’s performances have not been up to mark in the recent past

Borussia Dortmund, also known as BVB or simply Dortmund, are a German football powerhouse synonymous with passionate fans, a vibrant yellow wall and an exciting brand of attacking football.

Founded in 1909, the club have carved a distinct path in German football history. While not as dominant as Bayern Munich, Dortmund have consistently challenged for top honours and boasts a respectable collection of trophies.

Die Schwarzgelben established itself as a major player in German football throughout the 20th century. Dortmund’s journey is a testament to their unwavering spirit and dedication to attacking and an entertaining brand of football.

The club based in the North Rhine-Westphalia region of Germany have a long-standing tradition of nurturing young talent. They have a world-class youth academy that consistently produces Bundesliga stars and future internationals. Players like Mario Götze, Marco Reus, and Jadon Sancho are just a few examples.

This focus on young talent ensures a vibrant, energetic playing style and a constant pipeline of fresh faces. The recent years have seen BVB continue to be a major player in German football. They’ve consistently challenged for the Bundesliga title and secured another DFB-Pokal win in 2021.

Dortmund’s success is built on an aggressive, high-pressing style of play. Managers like Ottmar Hitzfeld and Jürgen Klopp instilled a philosophy of winning the ball back high up the pitch and launching swift attacks.

Their passionate fans and talented players make them a force to be reckoned with. With the UEFA Champions League final looming, the Black and Yellows have the chance to etch their name even deeper in footballing history.

Let’s delve into the silverware that adorns their trophy cabinet:

Borussia Dortmund Trophy collection


German Championship/Bundesliga – 8

1956, 1957, 1963, 1994–95, 1995–96, 2001–02, 2010–11, 2011–12

DFB-Pokal – 5

1964–65, 1988–89, 2011–12, 2016–17, 2020–21

DFB/DFL-Supercup – 6

1989, 1995, 1996, 2013, 2014, 2019

Oberliga West/West German Championship – 6

1947–48, 1948–49, 1949–50, 1952–53, 1955–56, 1956–57


UEFA Champions League – 1


European Cup Winners’ Cup – 1


Intercontinental Cup – 1


For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.