Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA Champions League

Real Madrid only team to have won more Champions League titles than Carlo Ancelotti

Published at :June 2, 2024 at 10:58 PM
Modified at :June 2, 2024 at 10:58 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

The Italian manager has two titles as a player and five as a manager.

Carlo Ancelotti earned his seventh Champions League title overall, five as a manager and two as a player, leading Real Madrid to the 2023-24 crown. Los Blancos are currently the only football club with more titles than the Italian.

Since their bitter rivals Barcelona last won the silverware in 2015, Real Madrid have won five times in total. AC Milan dreamed of matching Real Madrid’s record even in the 2000s. But, the Madrid-based club continue to be the unattainable gold standard that no one can match in the Champions League.

The first stone was placed and the last brushstroke was done by Dani Carvajal. The legend etched into the marble slab read, “Respects its past, learns from its present and believes in its future.” In May 2004, a 12-year-old boy with floppy blond hair and a lifetime ahead of him laid Real Madrid’s white shirt into the training ground’s foundations.

A man with a history and a greying beard, 32 years of age, donned it at Wembley on June 1, 2024, leaping to head in the goal that completed their best work so far.

Carvajal’s headed goal saw the entire stadium in white erupt in jubilation. Minutes later, Vinicius Jr. added the second to guarantee that Real Madrid were on the verge of winning their 15th Champions League title.

With 15 titles overall—eight more than the next best team—it maintained the Spanish club’s incredible record in the competition. With this victory, Real Madrid have already won six Champions League crowns in the previous 10 years, but Ancelotti insists they still aim for more.

Ancelotti said Dortmund were the superior team in the first half and that Madrid had to work hard for their most recent Champions League victory.

The German team wasted multiple opportunities to take the lead and Ancelotti said he changed the game by going from a 4-4-2 to a 4-3-3 formation.

Ever since the Champions League began as the European Cup in 1955, Los Blancos have been a constant force to be reckoned with. Real Madrid, who won the European Cup five times in a row from 1955 to 1960, are still the only side to accomplish this feat.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.