Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Spain announce final 26-man squad for Euro 2024; Marcos Llorente & Pau Cubarsi left out

Published at :June 7, 2024 at 5:25 PM
Modified at :June 7, 2024 at 6:09 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

Luis de la Fuente has withdrawn Barcelona star Pau Cubarsi from the final squad.

Aleix García, Marcos Llorente and Pau Cubarsi were removed from Spain’s Euro 2024 roster, it was revealed on Friday.

Nonetheless, players like Marc Cucurella of Chelsea, David Raya, the custodian of Arsenal, and Rodri, a midfielder for Manchester City, are part of manager Luis de la Fuente’s 26-man roster.

Although Cubari was left out of the list, his 16-year-old FC Barcelona colleague Lamine Yamal was selected. Even Fermin Lopez and former Newcastle United star Ayoze Perez will be representing La Roja in their first key competition.

December 20, 2022, saw De la Fuente replacing Luis Enrique after Spain‘s World Cup elimination against Morocco in the Round of 16.

Since then, he has guided the nation to its first international title in eleven years—the 2023 Nations League victory. Spain, the Euro 2008 and 2012 champions, are in the “group of death” together with holders Italy, Croatia and Albania.

La Furia Roja will play Croatia in Berlin on June 15 to start the competition.

Spain final 26-man squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Alex Remiro (Real Sociedad), David Raya (Arsenal on loan from Brentford), Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Aymeric Laporte (Al Nassr), Robin Le Normand (Real Sociedad), Alex Grimaldo (Bayer Leverkusen), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Dani Vivian (Athletic Bilbao), Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Nacho (Real Madrid), Cucarella (Chelsea)

Midfielders: Mikel Merino (Real Sociedad), Fabian Ruiz (PSG), Alex Baena (Villarreal), Martin Zubimendi (Real Sociedad), Rodrigo (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Fermin (Barcelona)

Forwards: Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Joselu (Real Madrid on loan from Espanyol), Lamine Yamal (Barcelona), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Ayoze Perez (Real Betis), Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Williams Jr (Athletic Bilbao)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.