Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

World Football

UEFA Euro U17 2024: List of all nations qualified

Published at :March 27, 2024 at 7:26 PM
Modified at :March 27, 2024 at 7:26 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : UEFA)

Rajarshi Shukla

Cyprus will host UEFA Euro U17 2024

Tuesday marked the end of the UEFA Euro U17 Championship elite phase, which determined which 16 teams will play in the finals, which will take place in Cyprus from May 20 to June 5.

The 31 teams that made it through the qualifying round joined the top-seeded Netherlands, who are the only team through to this point. The final 16-team tournament before a new format is implemented in 2024–2025 is open to the top seven finishers with the best records and the eight winners of the elite round groups.The eight teams that won the group were Austria, Denmark, France, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, and Ukraine. The seven best second place, in chronological order, were Spain, England, Serbia, Czechia, Wales, Slovakia, and Croatia; Belgium was not included in this list.

Germany are the defending champion after defeating France in Hungary in June of the previous year to win their second U17 championship since the 2001–02 division change. The previous U17 champions who qualified were England (1), Spain (3), Portugal (2), and France (3). Reaching a record 16th U17 final competition are England and Spain.

Russia’s continued invasion of Ukraine resulted in their exclusion from the competition. 53 teams joined this stage of competition, which comprises a qualifying round held in September–November 2023 and an elite round held in March 2024, except the hosts, Cyprus.

The 52 surviving teams were divided into 13 groups of four teams, except the Netherlands, which advanced to the elite round by virtue of having the highest ranking coefficient. A single randomised system is used for each group, and the clubs chosen as hosts following the draw play each other. The elite round was reached by the 13 group winners, 13 runners-up, and 5 third-place teams with the best record against the top and second-place sides in their respective groups.

Eight groups of four teams each were formed from the 32 teams. Single round-robin matches were played for each group at a team chosen as the host following the draw. Qualifying for the final event were the eight group champions and the seven runners-up with the strongest performance against all other teams in their group.

Nations qualified for Euro U-17 2024

  • Cyprus (host)
  • England
  • France
  • Sweden
  • Wales
  • Italy
  • Ukraine
  • Slovakia
  • Portugal
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • Czech Republic
  • Spain
  • Austria

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.