Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

World Football

US Open Cup: History, winners, everything you need to know

Published at :April 15, 2024 at 5:16 PM
Modified at :April 15, 2024 at 5:17 PM
Post Featured Image

Novojyoti Bhattacharjee

Due to World War II and war within associations, the American Cup was halted for a time

When we talk about the American football scene, MLS is the first thing which pops into every fan’s mind, but there’s one competition in the American structure which has been running since the 1890s. One of the most valuable competitions in the world, the US Open Cup has undergone a lot of changes.

In 1897, the competition began, was suspended, and then restarted in 1906 by the American Football Association. It changed hands in 1911 when the American Amateur Football Association rebranded the competition and expanded into the Northeast. 

In 1914, it was renamed National Challenge Cup and primarily featured clubs from New York City and New England. However, the American Soccer League’s club and USFA’s clubs eventually clashed in the latter portion of 1920. 

American Soccer Wars and Resurgence after MLS

The issue went to FIFA and raised questions over the integrity of competition over the signing of names from the European scene. The football war between football administrations didn’t stop for long and it eventually collapsed after the great depression in the 1920s.

A short time later, World War II put a halt to the competition. After the war, the inner city ruled the charts with LA v NY finals making headlines. However, the modern era ushered in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup.

With the emergence of the Major Soccer League and an increase in competition stature and teams, the competition has seen a resurgence in popularity. The US Open Cup did experience some cancellations due to COVID-19 scenarios, but it is now up and running.

US Open Cup: Winners list

1914- Brooklyn Field Club (NAFBL)

1915- Bethlehem Steel (NAFBL)

1916- Bethlehem Steel (NAFBL)

1917- Fall River Rovers (SNESL)

1918- Bethlehem Steel (NAFBL)

1919- Bethlehem Steel (NAFBL)

1920- St. Louis Ben Miller (SLSL)

1921- Brooklyn Robins Dry Dock (NAFBL)

1922- St. Louis Scullin Steel (SLSL)

1923- Paterson FC (NJ)(ASL I)

1924- Fall River Marksmen (ASL I)

1925- Shawsheen FC/Andover MA

1926- Bethlehem Steel (ASL I)

1927- Fall River Marksmen (ASL I)

1928- New York Nationals (ASL I)

1929- New York Hakoah (ESL)

1930- Fall River Marksmen (ASL I)

1931- New York Yankees/Fall River Marksmen (ASL I)

1932- New Bedford Whalers (ASL I)

1933- Stix Baer & Fuller (SLSL)

1934- Stix Baer & Fuller (SLSL)

1935- Central Breweries FC (StL)

1936- Philadelphia German- Americans SC (ASL II)

1937- New York Americans (ASL II)

1938- Chicago Sparta (NSL)

1939- Brooklyn St. Mary’s Celtic

1940- Baltimore SC (ASL II)/Chicago Sparta (NSL) co-champions

1941- Pawtucket Rangers (ASL II- NE)

1942- Pittsburgh Gallatin SC

1943- Brooklyn Hispano (ASL II)

1944- Brooklyn Hispano (ASL II)

1945- New York Brookhattan (ASL II)

1946- Chicago Viking A.A. (NSL)

1947- Ponta Delgada (MA)(Nat Soc League of New England)

1948- Simpkins- Ford (SLSL)

1949- Morgan Strasser

1950- Simpkins- Ford (SLSL)

1951- NY German- Hungarians SC (GAL)

1952- Harmarville Hurricanes SC (Pa)

1953- Chicago Falcons (NSL)

1954- New York Americans (ASL II)

1955- SC Eintracht/NY (GAL)

1956- Harmarville Hurricanes SC (Pa)

1957- St. Louis Kutis SC (SL Municipal League)

1958- Los Angeles Kickers (GLASL)

1959- San Pedro McIlvaine Canvasbacks (Cal)

1960- Phil. Ukrainian Nationals (ASL II)

1961- Phil. Ukrainian Nationals (ASL II)

1962- New York Hungaria (Ger Am Lge)

1963- Phil. Ukrainian Nationals (ASL II)

1964- Los Angeles Kickers- Victoria (GLASL)

1965- New York Ukrainians (Ger Am Lge)

1966- Philadelphia Ukrainian Nationals (ASL II)

1967- New York Greek- Americans (Ger Am League)

1968- New York Greek- Americans (Ger Am League)

1969- New York Greek- Americans (Ger Am League)

1970- SC Elizabeth (NJ) (Ger Am Lge)

1971- New York Hota (Ger Am Lge)

1972- SC Elizabeth (NJ) (Ger Am Lge)

1973- Los Angeles Maccabee SC (NSL)

1974- New York Greek- Americans (Ger Am League)

1975- Los Angeles Maccabee SC (NSL)

1976- San Francisco AC

1977- Los Angeles Maccabee SC (NSL)

1978- Los Angeles Maccabee SC (NSL)

1979- Brooklyn Dodgers (CSL)

1980- New York Pancyprian- Freedoms (CSL)

1981- Los Angeles Maccabee SC (NSL)

1982- New York Pancyprian- Freedoms (CSL)

1983- New York Pancyprian- Freedoms (CSL)

1984- New York AO Krete

1985- San Francisco Greek- American AC

1986- St. Louis Kutis SC

1987- Club Espana (Washington DC)

1988- St. Louis Busch Seniors

1989- St. Petersburg (FL) Kickers

1990- AAC Eagles (Chicago)

1991- Brooklyn Italians

1992- San Jose Oaks (SFDML)

1993- San Francisco CD Mexico

1994- San Francisco Greek- American AC

1995- Richmond Kickers (Premier League USISL)

1996- D.C. United (MLS)

1997- Dallas Burn (MLS)

1998- Chicago Fire (MLS)

1999- Rochester Rhinos (A- League, USL)

2000- Chicago Fire (MLS)

2001- LA Galaxy (MLS)

2002- Columbus Crew (MLS)

2003- Chicago Fire (MLS)

2004- Kansas City Wizards (MLS)

2005- LA Galaxy (MLS)

2006- Chicago Fire (MLS)

2007- New England Revolution (MLS)

2008- D.C. United (MLS)

2009- Seattle Sounders (MLS)

2010- Seattle Sounders (MLS)

2011- Seattle Sounders (MLS)

2012- Sporting Kansas City (MLS)

2013- D.C. United (MLS)

2014- Seattle Sounders (MLS)

2015- Sporting Kansas City (MLS)

2016- FC Dallas (MLS)

2017- Sporting Kansas City (MLS)

2018- Houston Dynamo (MLS)

2019- Atlanta United FC (MLS)

2020- N/A

2021- N/A

2022- Orlando City SC (MLS)

2023- Houston Dynamo (MLS)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.