Many players from different nations have been crowned champions.

The Madrid Open has been one of the favourite tournaments on the ATP World Tour. Introduced in 2003, the Spanish event started on hard courts but later on shifted to clay surfaces which also saw an introduction of blue clay in 2012. However, it shifted back to the traditional red one the following year after heaps of controversies. The tournament is now classified as an ATP Tour Masters Super 1000 event.

A variety of tennis players have made a mark in the tournament since its addition to the World Tour. The USD 71,08,349 event has seen diversified players winning the titles multiple times and carving their names on the prestigious trophy.

The men’s singles discipline has often been the one to watch out for every time the tournament goes by. A great many players have successfully propelled themselves to the title multiple times. Let’s have a look at some of the successful men’s singles players at the Madrid Open.

5. Alexander Zverev

German ace Alexander Zverev was crowned the Madrid Open champion twice in 2018 and 2021 respectively. In his former appearance, he was up against Austrian player Dominic Thiem who was playing his second consecutive final after being runner-up in 2017. However, the German ace didn’t take too long to find his rhythm in the match. He triumphed in straight sets 6-4, 6-4 to clinch the trophy.

In 2021, Zverev sought to win the title yet again by challenging Matteo Berrettini of Italy in the final. The German player was pushed beyond the limits by his opponent after losing the first set in a thrilling tiebreaker. However, he won the next two sets in fine fashion. Zverev lifted his second title at the Madrid Open winning by 6-7 (8-10), 6-4, 6-3 in the final.

 4. Andy Murray

Andy Murray has also been one of the successful players at the Madrid Open. The British player also won the title twice back in 2008 and 2015 respectively. In 2008, the former World No. 1 was up against Gilles Simon from France. Murray didn’t seem to break a sweat against his opponent as he easily marched towards the title with a 6-4, 7-6 win.

In his second appearance in 2015, Andy Murray was up against two-time defending champion Rafael Nadal in the final. Nadal, who was the home favourite, looked to win the title for the third consecutive time and fifth time in total. However, his dream was dominantly shattered by Murray as he was defeated 3-6, 2-6 in straight sets.

3.  Roger Federer

There would hardly be any title where Roger Federer won’t have his name. The Swiss player lifted the Madrid Open crown on three different occasions in 2006, 2009, and 2012. Not only this, but he is also the only player in his discipline to win this title on three different surfaces- hard court, blue clay and red clay.

The former World No.1 first captured this title back in 2006 by defeating Fernando Gonzalez 5-7, 6-1, 6-0. In 2009, he beat the home favourite and the then former winner Rafael Nadal 6-4, 6-4 in straight sets.

In 2012, Federer faced Czech Republic’s player Tomas Berdych. The former was down by a set and had to come up the hard by winning the other two sets in a tie-breaker. The final scoreline of the match was 3-6, 7-5, 7-5.

2. Novak Djokovic

World No.1 and former Olympic champion Novak Djokovic also triumphed thrice on separate occasions in 2011, 2016, and 2019. Djokovic lifted his maiden Madrid Open title by defeating the then defending champion Rafael Nadal 7-5, 6-4 in straight sets.

In 2016, he was yet again up against a defending champion, this time Andy Murray. The Serbian ace had to come through in three games 6-2, 3-6, and 6-3. Djokovic contested his third final in 2019 and didn’t fail to convert the opportunity that time as well. The former Olympic champion convincingly beat Greek player Stefanos Tsitsipas in straight sets.

1. Rafael Nadal

Former Olympic champion and former World no.1 Rafael Nadal holds the record for winning the title on five occasions on his home turf which is the most by any player. Nadal has contested a total of eight finals at the Madrid Open and has emerged victorious on five occasions i.e. 2005, 2010, 2013, 2014, and 2017.

The Spanish player lifted the title for the first time by defeating Ivan Ljubicic of Croatia in one of the most thrilling battles. The match went to the full distance where Nadal managed to pull it off in the tie-breaker of the fifth set 3-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6(7-3).

Nadal’s second title at the Masters 1000 tournament came in 2010 when he defeated nemesis Roger Federer and avenged the defeat of the previous year when his opponent had beaten him. His next two titles came consecutively in 2013 and 2014 when he beat Stanisias Wawrinka of Switzerland and Kei Nishikori of Japan respectively.

Nadal’s last title win came in 2017 after he beat Dominic in the final and lift the title for the fifth time. The scoreline of the game was 7-6(10-8), 6-4.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.