Roger Federer has announced that the three-day event will be his last competitive appearance.

The Rod Laver Cup will be the last tournament for Swiss-born star and 20 grand slam winner champion Roger Federer. He will be teaming up alongside Rafa Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Casper Rudd for Team Europe. Roger Federer has recently announced his retirement from tennis putting an end to a stellar 24-year career. He cleared that he won’t play the singles and will only participate in doubles and would like to do so with his long-time rival cum friend Rafa Nadal.

Federer, 41 now, last played competitive Tennis during last year’s Wimbledon, where he lost in the quarterfinals against Hubert Hurkacz. After that, he was sidelined with a knee injury and underwent a third surgery. Team Europe would like to defend their title again having won this tournament four times. It is for the last time that tennis fans will be witnessing the ‘Big three’ Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic playing together. Let’s know more about this tournament, its history, format and schedule for 2022.

What is Laver Cup?

The Laver Cup is much like the Ryder cup with six of the top players from Team Europe going against six players from the rest of the world. The event comprises five sessions played over three days. The inaugural season of the laver cup took place in Prague in 2017 and then took place every year with the only exception in 2020 due to Covid-19.

Laver Cup: How does it work?

Both the teams are captained by legendary figures in the sport and each team consists of six players. Former Swedish player and tennis legend Bjorn Borg will captain Team Europe, while American legend John McEnroe will captain Team World.


The Laver Cup was started 5 years ago in 2017. It was named after Australian tennis legend Rod Laver. Laver Cup was the brainchild of Roger Federer and his management company TEAM8 then collaborated with Brazilian businessman and former Davis Cupper Jorge Paulo Lemann and Tennis Australia to create this event.

It is believed that Federer was inspired to create a tennis tournament based on the biennial Ryder Cup, which pits the best golfers from the United States and Europe against each other.


The format of the Laver Cup is designed in a similar way to the Ryder Cup. It is a team tournament where six top European players and six top players from the rest of the world face each other representing Team Europe and Team World respectively.

Each team is captained by a non-playing tennis icon. Three of the six players in each team quality based on their ATP singles rankings as of the Monday following the conclusion of the French Open in June while rest three are picked by the captains of each team termed as ‘Captain’s Picks’ and which is announced by the start of the US Open.

The Laver Cup features a total of 12 matches comprising nine singles and three doubles, played over a span of three days.


Day 1: Each match won gives one point
Day 2: Each match won gives two points
Day 3: Each match won gives three points on
And the first team who reaches the 13-point mark is declared the winner.
It’s compulsory for each team to send at least four of the six players to participate in the doubles match while all other players can take part once or twice in the singles. The matches are played in a best-of-three format, with a 10-point tiebreak if the match goes to the deciding set.


Team Europe: Rafael Nadal (ESP), Novak Djokovic (SER), Casper Rudd (NOR), Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE), Roger Federer (SUI), Andy Murray (GBR), Matteo Berrettini (ITA, Alternate player) Bjorn Borg (Captain), Thomas Enqvist (Vice Captain)
Team World: Felix Auger-Aliassime (CAN), Taylor Fritz (USA), Diego Schwartzman (ARG), Alex De Minaur (AUS), Frances Tiafoe (USA), Jack Sock (USA), Tommy Paul (USA, Alternate player) John McEnroe (Captain), Patrick McEnroe (Vice Captain).

2022 Laver Cup Timings and Schedule

Friday 23, September: 05:00 pm (IST): Match 1 (singles), followed by Match 2 (singles)
Friday 23, September: 11:00 pm (IST): Match 3 (singles), followed by Match 4 (doubles)
Saturday, 24 September: 05:00 pm (IST): Match 5 (singles), followed by Match 6 (singles)
Saturday, 24 September: 11:00 pm (IST): Match 7 (singles), followed by Match 8 (doubles)
Sunday 25, September: 4:00 pm (IST): Match 9 (doubles), followed by Match 10 (singles), Match 11 (singles), Match 12 (singles) and a Decider, Match 13 (doubles) if points are even.


The tournament can be watched live on Sony TEN1 and Sony TEN1 HD TV channels in India. Live streaming of the match will be available on the SonyLIV app.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.