Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Paris Olympics 2024

Argentina announce provisional squad for Paris Olympics 2024; Thiago Almada & Lucas Beltran included

Published at :June 4, 2024 at 4:54 PM
Modified at :June 4, 2024 at 4:54 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

Enzo Fernandez and Alejandro Garnacho miss out on the Argentina Olympics squad.

Premier League players are currently not part of Argentina’s tentative team for the football competition at the Olympics this summer.

This year’s football competition, which features 16 teams competing in the men’s division and 12 teams in the women’s, will take place in Paris from July 24 to August 10.

There are only five countries fielding teams in both tournaments: France, Japan, New Zealand, Spain and the United States. Three players who are older than 23 may be selected for the men’s tournament squad, however, most players are under 23 in this selected group of Argentina squad.

On Monday morning, the hosts France announced their squad as head coach Thierry Henry named his 25-man roster, which featured players like Jean-Philippe Mateta of Crystal Palace and Alexandre Lacazette of Lyon.

With the caveat that they have not yet named their overage players, Argentina coach Javier Mascherano have presently followed suit with a 23-man roster that will be utilised for the warmup games.

The primary storyline is the exclusion of Alejandro Garnacho of Manchester United and Enzo Fernandez of Chelsea, both of whom qualify as under-23 players. After competing in the Copa America this summer, Fernandez is anticipated to miss out on the Olympics and return to Chelsea.

Argentina Paris Olympics provisional squad

Goalkeeper: Leandro Brey (Boca Juniors), Fabricio Lacovich

Defenders: Marco di Cesare (Racing Club), Bruno Amione (Santos Laguna), Lucas Esquivel (Club Athletico Paranaense), Gonzalo Lujan (San Lorenzo), Kevin Lomonaco (Tigre), Joaquin Garcia (Vélez Sarsfield), Damian Fernandez (Vélez Sarsfield)

Midfielders: Ezequiel Fernández (Boca Juniors), Kevin Zenon (Boca Juniors), Cristian Medina (Boca Juniors), Juan Nardoni (Racing Club), Alan Varela (FC Porto), Santiago Hezze (Olympiacos), Thiago Almada (Atlanta United), Thiago Fernandez (Vélez Sarsfield)

Forwards: Pablo Solari (River Plate), Claudio Echeverri (River Plate), Luciano Gondou (Argentinos Juniors), Lucas Beltran (Fiorentina), Santiago Castro (Bologna), Giuliano Simeone (Alavés)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.