Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 Quarterfinals Highlights: Indian men's team loses to Japan, women confirm first-ever medal

Published at :February 16, 2024 at 7:14 PM
Modified at :February 27, 2024 at 7:34 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Badminton Association of India)

Khel Now

Hello and welcome to Khel Now’s live blog for the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 Quarterfinals live action. Please wait for the blog to load.

The Indian women’s badminton team will face Hong Kong in their quarter-final clash while the men’s team will take on Japan for a spot in the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 semis.

Led by PV Sindhu, the Indian women’s team beat China in their only group match to top Group W. They will be confident of a solid show in the last eight stage to reach the semifinals.

The men’s team, on the other hand, beat Hong Kong 4-1 in their opening group fixture, but fell to 2-3 defeat against China in their final group match. They finished runners-up in Group A behind China and will face heavyweights Japan in the quarters. India had, however, rested its key doubles pair Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty as well as Kidambi Srikanth against China having already booked their place in the knockouts.

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 Day 3 Report

Indian men’s badminton team put up a spirited performance against China but ended on the losing side of a 2-3 score line in the Group A clash of the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 at Selangor, Malaysia, on Thursday.

With the quarter-final spot assured after their win over Hong Kong on Wednesday, India opted to rest Asian Games gold medallist doubles combination of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty and former world no. 1 Kidambi Srikanth in order to keep them fresh for the knock-out stage.

World No. 7 HS Prannoy also needed time to find his footing in the opening match against Weng Hong Yang but showed why he is considered such a formidable force in the team events by staging an impressive fightback to win 6-21, 21-18, 21-19 in an hour and 13 minutes.

The doubles combination of MR Arjun and Dhruv Kapila then came close to doubling India’s lead against the Chinese combination of Chen Bo Yang and Liu Yi, ranked 17 places above them. Trailing 13-19 in the decider, the Indian pair won six straight points to level scores but could not sustain the momentum and lost 21-15, 19-21, 21-19 in an hour and 10 minutes.

Lakshya Sen then put India ahead once again with a 21-11, 21-16 win over Lei Lan Xi.

It was then left for the debutant doubles combination of Suraj Goala and Pruthvi K Roy or national singles champion Chirag Sen to see India through. They did take the fight to their opponents but fell short.

Trending Indian Sports articles



China beat India 3-2 (Weng Hong Yang lost to HS Prannoy 21-6, 18-21, 19-21; Chen Bo Yang/Liu Yi beat MR Arjun/Dhruv Kapila 21-15, 19-21, 21-19; Lei Lan Xi lost to Lakshya Sen 11-21, 16-21; Ren Xiang Yu/Xie Hao Nan beat Suraj Goala/Pruthvi K Roy 21-13, 21-9; Wang Zheng Xing beat Chirag Sen 21-15, 21-1

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.