IPL 2023

Top 5 highest totals in IPL history

Aayushman Vishwanathan

April 29 2023
Top 5 highest totals in IPL history

RCB scored 263/5 against PWI in IPL 2013, which still is the highest total in the tournament’s history.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has undeniably established itself as the most exciting T20 franchise tournament in the world. With the world’s best players plying their trade, the IPL is sure to produce fireworks and has predictably done so in the last 15 seasons.

The marquee T20 league has also seen some of the highest totals in the format’s history. With some highest totals on the horizon, many other records also get established on the way, putting those players on the map that otherwise might have found it difficult to get recognition fast.

We take a look at top five highest totals in IPL history:

5) Kolkata Knight Knight Riders – 245-6:

Kolkata Knight Riders amassed the highest total of the season, smashing 245 against the Punjab Kings. Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine set the tone with a 53-run stand, with the latter clobbering 75 off 36 deliveries. The likes of Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik provided the required finishing touch.

Despite requiring a shade more than 12 an over, Punjab came all guns blazing as KL Rahul clattered 66 off 29 balls. However, they struggled to keep up with the required rate after his departure. Ravichandran Ashwin’s 22-ball 45 limited the margin of loss to 31 runs.

4) Chennai Super Kings – 246-5:

Chennai Super Kings’ total of 246 against the Rajasthan Royals at the Chepauk was also the highest total of the 2010. Opener Murali Vijay put the Royals to the sword with a 30-ball 50 and a 46-ball ton in the 18th over of the innings. Vijay’s 127 and Albie Morkel’s 34-ball 62 propelled the hosts to 246.

Chasing an improbable total, the inaugural IPL champions built a 69-run opening stand in 7.2 overs. Naman Ojha’s unbeaten 94 and Shane Watson’s breezy 25-ball 60 stood out as they fought valiantly to reach 223-5 by batting their full 20 overs.

3) Royal Challengers Bangalore – 248-3:

Royal Challengers Bangalore performed a perfect demolition job of the Gujarat Lions after Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers lit up the Chinnaswamy Stadium with their rollicking centuries. After Dhawal Kulkarni cleaned up Chris Gayle in the 4th over, Kohli and De Villiers offered no respite to the Lions and took RCB to 248 with their 229-run partnership.

The Lions lost Dwayne Smith and captain Brendon McCullum in the first five overs, with the RCB bowlers plugging away in regular intervals. Chris Jordan and Yuzvendra Chahal shared seven scalps between them to fire their side to a 144-run win.

2) Lucknow Super Giants – 257-5:

Lucknow Super Giants created an impression in their first year, finishing in the playoffs after being beaten by the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Their second season has seen them smash 257, the second-highest total in IPL history.

After Punjab Kings’ captain Shikhar Dhawan sent Lucknow into bat in Mohali, they got off the blocks quickly. While Kyle Mayers and Marcus Stoinis made fifties, Ayush Badoni and Nicholas Pooran scored brisk 40s. The Kings didn’t have the desired start and were bowled out 56 runs shy of the target.

1) Royal Challengers Bangalore – 263-5:

Pune Warriors didn’t have a worse outing than the one dished out by Chris Gayle’s fireworks during IPL 2013. The Jamaican’s 175, headlined by 17 towering sixes, stands as the highest T20 score ever as it catapulted RCB to a behemoth 263 in 20 overs. While the West Indian left-hander undeniably demolished the opposition, AB de Villiers didn’t hold anything back either and hammered 31 off his eight balls.

The Warriors fell like a pack of cards in pursuit of accomplishing the target. Steve Smith top-scored with 41, but RCB’s bowlers reigned supreme to ram home a 130-run win. That season saw the Warriors finish just above the last placed Delhi Daredevils with four wins and 12 losses.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.