The Red Devils are one of the most successful club in the world 

Manchester United haven’t won a trophy in five seasons, which is unusual for a team as decorated as the Red Devils.

Although Manchester United have not won the Premier League title since the great Sir Alex Ferguson’s departure in 2013, the Red Devils have a very long history of winning trophies.

United have won the Premier League 20 times, more than any other English club. They have also achieved success on the European scene, being the first and only English team to win the treble (Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League) in 1999.

United’s last opportunity at a trophy this season came in the Champions League, where they were eliminated in the Round of 16 by Atletico Madrid.

Here is a list of all the trophies Manchester United have won.

Trophy Breakdown

FA Cup

  • Titles: 12
  • Years won: 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004, 2016

The only other team to have won the FA Cup more frequently than Manchester United are Arsenal, who have done so 14 times.

With Louis van Gaal in charge, United’s most recent FA Cup victory came in 2016, when they defeated Crystal Palace in the championship game.

League Cup

  • Titles: 5
  • Years won: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2017

Liverpool holds the record with nine League Cup victories, whereas United has only won it five times.

Under Jose Mourinho, United last won the competition in 2017, when they defeated Southampton 3-2.

FA Community Shield (Charity Shield)

  • Titles: 21
  • Years won: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965*, 1967*, 1977*, 1983, 1990*, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2016 

United has taken part in the Community Shield frequently because to their consistent success in the league and FA Cup.

They have really won the customary curtain-raiser 21 times, which is more than any other team has ever accomplished in the event’s history.

UEFA Champions League (European Cup)

  • Titles: 3 
  • Years won: 1968, 1999, 2008

In 1968, under Matt Busby’s leadership, United won the European Cup by defeating Benfica 4-1 in the championship match.

Ferguson led United to an amazing 2-1 victory over Bayern Munich in 1999. Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer scored goals in extra time to give United the victory after they had fallen down 1-0.

In 2008, Ferguson supervised United’s victory over Chelsea in the Champions League on penalties.

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup

  • Titles: 1
  • Years won: 1991

United defeated Barcelona 2-1 in Rotterdam to win their first European championship in 23 years.

UEFA Europa League

  • Titles: 1
  • Years won: 2017

The most recent trophy won by United was the Europa League title, which they won in 2017 with a 2-0 victory against Ajax thanks to goals from Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan.

European Super Cup

  • Titles: 1
  • Years won: 1991

United met Red Star Belgrade, the champion of the European Cup, in the European Super Cup final following their Cup Winners’ Cup victory.

Intercontinental Cup

  • Titles: 1
  • Years won: 1999

The Champions League and South American Copa Libertadores champions competed in a tournament called the Intercontinental Cup.

FIFA Club World Cup

  • Titles: 1
  • Years won: 2008

The FIFA Club World Cup superseded the Intercontinental Cup, and United won that event as well after defeating Ecuador’s LDU Quito 1-0 in 2008 final. Wayne Rooney scored the game-winning goal.

English Second Division

  • Titles: 2
  • Years won: 1936, 1975

United achieved promotion to the first tier by winning the second division championship on two separate occasions. Since 1975, they have remained in the top tier.

Premier League (First Division) 

  • Titles: 20
  • Years won: 1908, 1911, 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013

Prior to Ferguson’s arrival, United had won seven league titles, but the Scotsman ended a 26-year wait for the trophy in 1993. Ferguson went on to win the league 13 times, with his relentless thirst for success aiding United’s dominance in English football.

Liverpool, on the other hand, is currently just one league title behind United after winning their 19th title in the 2019-20 season.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.