Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

World Football

Inter-American Cup to return in 2024 as CONCACAF and CONMEBOL sign new strategic partnership

Published at :August 17, 2023 at 5:36 PM
Modified at :January 13, 2024 at 5:54 PM
Post Featured Image

Ashmit Sinha

The Inter American club was last played in 1988

Lionel Messi’s arrival in America has not only changed the soccer dynamic within the country, but on the whole continent as well. CONCACAF and CONMEBOL, the federations in charge of promoting and regulating the sport, have decided to cash in on the growing popularity of Inter Miami and other American soccer teams post Lionel Messi’s arrival in America.

CONCACAF and CONMEBOL have signed an agreement of strategic collaboration with each other to allow more cross competition between teams from their federations. The agreement involves a men’s and women’s national team competitions and a new men’s club tournament.

The CONMEBOL Copa America 2024 will be a men’s tournament played in the United States, in the summer of 2024, and will include 10 CONMEBOL teams and the six best Concacaf teams, as guests. This traditional CONMEBOL tournament will be co-organized by both confederations.

For women’s national teams, Concacaf has invited the top four CONMEBOL national teams to participate in the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup. The inaugural edition of this 12-team tournament, which is a key part of Concacaf’s new women’s national team ecosystem, will be played in the United States.

Competitions like these will make sure that CONMEBOL teams get much needed experience and practice before the World Cup.

On the other hand, CONCACAF teams will get much needed international exposure and experience.

However, the most lucrative league of all will be the reintroduction of the Inter-American League.

Inter-American Cup was a club competition which involved the best clubs of the CONMEBOL and CONCACAF federations respectively.

The tournament was discontinued in 1988 as more and more clubs from the CONMEBOL federation started to prioritise the Copa Libertadores.

However, soccer’s rising popularity in continent has facilitated the return of the “final four” style tournament. The tournament will include two teams from each federation, split in the following way. :-

  1. Champions of the Concachampions 2023: – Currently Club Leon. (CONCACAF)
  2. Champions of the Leagues cup 2023: – Inter Miami or Nashville. (CONCACAF)
  3. Champions of the Copa Libertadores 2023: – TBD (CONMEBOL)
  4. Champions of the 2023 South American Cup: – TBD (CONMEBOL)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.