Premier League

Managers to win Premier League Manager of the Month on three consecutive occasions

Manav ChowdhuryManav Chowdhury

November 11 2023
Managers to win Premier League Manager of the Month on three consecutive occasions

Only 4 managers have managed to complete this feast so far

The Premier League Manager of the Month is an association football award that recognises the best adjudged Premier League manager each month of the season. The winner is chosen by a combination of an online public vote, which contributes to 10% of the final tally, and a panel of experts. The Premier League introduced new Manager of the Month and Manager of the Season awards for the 1993–94 season.

The first Manager of the Month was awarded to Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson for his achievements in August 1993. Ferguson has been Manager of the Month the most times with a record 27 awards. Here we look at the four managers who have won the Premier League Manager of the Month award on three consecutive occasions:

Antonio Conte

Conte won the Premier League Manager of the Month award 3 times in a row, winning it from October 2016 to December 2016. The Italian tactician had a great spell as manager of Chelsea, helping the club win the Premier League in his first season in charge of the team. He was recently the head coach of Premier League club Tottenham Hotspur but unfortunately for him, it didn’t work out and he left the club by mutual consent.

Pep Guardiola

Pep Guardiola Manchester City UEFA Champions League 2023-24
Manchester City won their maiden UEFA Champions League in 2022-23 season

Pep Guardiola is considered to be one of the greatest managers of all time, The Spaniard has been magnificent with Manchester City since he was appointed manager in 2016. He won the Manager of the Month award four times on the bounce, winning it from September 2017 to December 2017.  He led City to a domestic treble in 2018–19, their first Champions League final in 2020–21, and their first Champions League title as part of another continental treble in 2022–23.

Jurgen Klopp

Klopp was appointed manager of Liverpool in 2015. He has guided the club to UEFA Champions League finals in 2018 and 2022 and won the trophy in 2019 to secure his first and Liverpool’s sixth title in the competition. Klopp’s side finished second in the 2018–19 Premier League, registering 97 points. The German tactician won the Manager of the Month award 3 times in a row, winning it from November 2019 to January 2020.

Ange Postecoglou

He was the Australia men’s senior national team manager from 2013 to 2017, winning the AFC Asian Cup in 2015 and also going to the 2014 FIFA World Cup. He won the J1 League with Yokohama F. Marinos in 2019 and then won five trophies in two seasons with Scottish side Celtic. He became head coach of Premier League club Tottenham Hotspur in 2023.

Postecoglou becomes the first boss ever to win the first three Manager of the Month awards available to him, and the first to claim the first three awards from the start of any Premier League season. Postecoglou now has the chance to match Guardiola’s record run of four successive awards, which the Manchester City manager accomplished in 2017-18.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.