Profile Photo

FIFA U-20 World Cup

  • 0Reviews
  • Rating




The FIFA U-20 World Cup is the biennial football world championship for male players under the age of 20, organised by FIFA. The competition has been staged every two years since the first tournament in 1977 held in Tunisia.[1] Until 2005 it was known as the FIFA World Youth Championship. In the twenty-one tournaments held, ten different nations have won the title. Argentina is the most successful team with six titles, followed by Brazil with five titles. Portugal and Serbia have both won two titles (with the latter winning once as Yugoslavia), while Ghana, Germany, Spain, France, England and Russia (as the USSR) have won the title once each. A corresponding event for women's teams, the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup, began in 2002 with the name "FIFA U-19 Women's World Championship" and an age limit of 19. The age limit for the women's competition was changed to 20 beginning with the 2006 FIFA U-20 Women's World Championship, and the competition was renamed as a "World Cup" in 2007 in preparation for the 2008 event.


Address South Korea

Key Links & Social Media


Org / Governing Body FIFA
Start Date 0000-00-00
End Date 0000-00-00
Year Founded 1977
Go to Top