Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

World Football

How many trophies have Bayer Leverkusen won in their history?

Published at :May 26, 2024 at 1:48 AM
Modified at :May 26, 2024 at 1:48 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : DFL/Bundesliga)

Samannay Sen

Die Werkself will aim to make their name in the upcoming UEFA Champions League competition.

Bayer Leverkusen, often nicknamed “Die Werkself” (literally the works or factory XI), are a German club that has carved a distinct niche in Bundesliga history.

While they may not boast the trophy haul of Bayern Munich, Bayer Leverkusen have consistently challenged the status quo, earning a reputation for exciting, attacking football and narrowly missing out on top honours on several occasions.

However, the wait for the elusive Bundesliga title finally ended spectacularly in 2024, marking a golden chapter in the club’s narrative. Spanish coach Xabi Alonso set a record for Leverkusen as the first German side to become the unbeaten champions and earn a UEFA Champions League qualification.

Since their formation in 1904, Bayer Leverkusen have risen from regional leagues to become a mainstay in the Bundesliga. They’ve consistently produced talented players and coaches, and their never-say-die attitude has earned them a loyal fanbase.

For much of their Bundesliga tenure, Bayer Leverkusen existed in the shadow of Bayern Munich’s dominance. Despite this, they established themselves as a European force in the late 1980s, capturing the coveted UEFA Cup (now Europa League) in 1988.

That victory, achieved against mighty Espanyol, showcased their attacking prowess and the emergence of legendary players like Ulf Kirsten.

However, the early 2000s brought both heartbreak and a surge in popularity. Under the guidance of managers like Christoph Daum and Klaus Augenthaler, Leverkusen assembled a “golden generation” featuring the likes of Michael Ballack, Lucio, and Bernd Schneider.

They came to be known as “Neverkusen” for their agonizing near misses. In the 2001-02 season, they astonishingly finished runners-up in the Bundesliga, DFB-Pokal, and even the Champions League, losing to Real Madrid in the final.

Leverkusen were close to ending the 2023-24 season as invincible. They were undefeated in Germany and won both Bundesliga & DFB Pokal. However, a defeat to Atalanta in the Europa League final brought an end to their run of 51 matches unbeaten.

Bayer Leverkusen’s trophy cabinet includes their achievements and the fighting spirit that has become synonymous with the club. Meanwhile let’s dive deep into the major titles, including the UEFA Cup, and the DFB-Pokal in their history.

Bayer Leverkusen Trophy collection:


Bundesliga – 1


DFB Pokal – 2

1992-93, 2023-24

Trofeo Ciutat De Palma – 1


2.Bundesliga – 1



UEFA Cup – 1


For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.