Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


List of all major trophies achieved by Mohammedan Sporting to date

Published at :April 14, 2024 at 7:33 PM
Modified at :April 14, 2024 at 7:33 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Mohammedan Sporting Twitter(X))

Dipro Mukherjee

Mohammedan Sporting gained ISL promotion after their maiden I-League title.

Mohammedan Sporting Club were the first Indian club to win the Calcutta Football League and a major trophy abroad. The football team from Kolkata were declared the champions of the I-League 2023-24 season as they lifted their maiden title. The history of this legendary saga began in 1891, and it has been reigning over the Kolkata Maidan with teams like the Mohun Bagan Super Giant and East Bengal FC for more than a century now.

A sports club called Jubilee Club was established in 1887 under the direction of Khan Bahadur Aminul Islam. It subsequently changed its name to Crescent Club and then to Hamidia Club. To represent the Bengali Mohammedans residing in Calcutta, the club was finally reorganized in 1891 and given the name of Mohammedan Sporting Club.

Even though the years 1931–1947 came to be known as their Golden Era, club administrators like CA Aziz focused on building a good team using cutting-edge tactics and were among the only Indians to recognize the significance of playing in boots at the outset. Rejected players from Mohun Bagan, such as Kaleh Khan and Hafiz Rahid, were brought in by Aziz in 1931.

The success in the 1980s started when Mohammedan became the first team to win the CFL in 1981 without losing a single match, defeating Mohun Bagan. East Bengal and Mohun Bagan were their local opponents. One can recognize the years 1947–1980 as their significant successful phase.

From 1980 to 2019, Mohammedan Sporting Club experienced a period of slow decline and failure. Even renowned coaches like Mohammed Habib and PK Banerjee had difficulties while they were in charge of the outfit. But the club did set out on a quest to resurrect the lost glory after 2019 in the Indian football landscape.

Here we delve into the list of all the major trophies achieved by Mohammedan Sporting Club to date.

Calcutta Football League (14 times): The first Indian team to win the Calcutta Football League

 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1940, 1941, 1948, 1957, 1967, 1981, 2021, 2022, 2023

IFA Shield (6 times):

1936, 1941, 1942, 1957, 1971, 2013

Durand Cup (2 times): The first Indian team to win the Durand Cup

1940, 2013

Rovers Cup: (6 times): Joint champions with East Bengal during the 1980 tourney

1940, 1956, 1959, 1980, 1984, 1987

Federation Cup: (2 times):

1983, 1984

DCM Trophy: (4 times):

1958, 1961, 1964, 1980

Stafford Cup (4 times): Joint champions with East Bengal during the 1981 tourney

1968, 1970, 1981, 1991

Bordoloi Trophy (6 times):

1969, 1970, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1991

Independence Day Cup, Nowgong (3 times):

1969, 2007, 2009

Sait Nagjee Trophy (4 times):

1971, 1984, 1989, 1992

All India Governors Gold Cup, Sikkim (3 times):

1980, 2016, 2019

Kalinga Cup (2 times):

1991, 1992

Sri Krishna Gold Cup, Patna (4 times):

1958, 1959, 1965, 1966

Aga Khan Gold Cup, Dhaka:


For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.