Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Denmark announce squad for Euro 2024; Christian Eriksen & Rasmus Hojlund included

Published at :May 30, 2024 at 11:36 PM
Modified at :May 30, 2024 at 11:36 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

Eriksen and Hojlund named in Denmark’s Euro 2024 squad as O’Riley misses out

Denmark‘s Euro 2024 roster includes Christian Eriksen and Rasmus Hojlund; Matt O’Riley is not included in the squad of 26 players. Eriksen’s Euro 2020 campaign was infamously cut short when he went into cardiac arrest in his country’s opening game in Copenhagen against Finland.

The midfield player was in the hospital watching the Red and Whites advance to the semi-finals, but he will play again, this time with Hojlund, his Manchester United teammate.

O’Riley, meanwhile, has not been included despite having a stellar season—scoring 18 goals—with Scottish Premiership winners Celtic.

“It’s hard to disappoint someone, these are boyhood dreams that come up short,” head coach Kasper Hjulmund told reporters, “[but] I’m very happy with the squad we have.”

Although Simon Kjaer’s playing time with Milan was limited towards the end of the Serie A season due to a thigh injury, the veteran defender was additionally selected.

“We have a lot of data on him, we have visited him and have it fully under control,” Hjulmund added. “He is now in a place where he is completely ready, he is in good physical condition.”

Denmark’s full Euro 2024 squad

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Anderlecht), Frederik Ronnow (Union Berlin), Mads Hermansen (Leicester City).

Defenders: Andreas Christensen (Barcelona), Simon Kjaer (AC Milan), Joachim Andersen (Crystal Palace), Jannik Vestergaard (Leicester City), Victor Nelsson (Galatasaray), Alexander Bah (Benfica), Joakim Maehle (Wolfsburg), Rasmus Kristensen (Roma), Victor Kristiansen (Bologna).

Midfielders: Christian Eriksen (Manchester United), Thomas Delaney (Anderlecht), Morten Hjulmand (Sporting Lisbon), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham), Christian Norgaard (Brentford), Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford).

Forwards: Jacob Bruun Larsen (Burnley), Andreas Skov Olsen (Club Brugge), Anders Dreyer (Anderlecht), Kasper Dolberg (Anderlecht), Rasmus Hojlund (Manchester United), Jonas Wind (Wolfsburg), Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.