Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

England announce final 26-man squad for Euro 2024; James Maddison & Harry Maguire left out

Published at :June 6, 2024 at 11:01 PM
Modified at :June 6, 2024 at 11:01 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

Crystal Palace pair Eberechi Eze and Adam Wharton have been named in England’s squad.

Jack Grealish, Harry Maguire and James Maddison are among the players left out of England’s team for Euro 2024, while including Crystal Palace’s Eberechi Eze and Adam Wharton.

The Three Lions’ 25-year-old left winger Eze, who has only earned three caps, was impressive during Monday’s 3-0 friendly victory over Bosnia-Herzegovina at St. James’ Park.

In that encounter, 20-year-old midfielder Wharton made his debut for his country as a replacement.

Earlier on Thursday, it was disclosed that Gareth Southgate’s 26-man roster did not include Tottenham playmaker Maddison, Manchester United centre-back Maguire and even Manchester City star Grealish.

Despite being included in the initial 33-player shortlist, Burnley goalkeeper James Trafford, Liverpool defender Jarell Quansah, Everton defender Jarrad Branthwaite and Liverpool midfielder Curtis Jones are also left off the roster.

Luke Shaw, a left-back for Manchester United who hasn’t played since mid-February due to a hamstring injury, is now included in the England side.

This Friday’s friendly encounter between England and Iceland at Wembley is their final game before the championship, Euro 2024, in Germany kicks off on Friday, June 14.

Southgate’s team will play its first match of the 2024 European Championship in Gelsenkirchen, Germany, on June 16 in Group C. On June 20, they will play Slovenia and on June 25 they will play Denmark.

England final 26-man squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).

Dropped from the original 33-man shortlist: James Trafford (Burnley, goalkeeper), Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton, defender), Jarell Quansah (Liverpool, defender), Harry Maguire (Manchester United, defender), Curtis Jones (Liverpool, midfielder), Jack Grealish (Manchester City, forward), James Maddison (Tottenham, forward).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.