Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Switzerland announce final 26-man squad for Euro 2024

Published at :June 8, 2024 at 1:14 PM
Modified at :June 8, 2024 at 4:30 PM
Post Featured Image


The Rossocrociati will be taking 26 men to Germany.

Murat Yakin has unveiled the final 26-man roster for Switzerland and will be raring to go to Germany. Previously, Yakin had announced a 38-man provisional squad for the Euro 2024 tournament.

After taking some team training sessions, the Switzerland boss made his judgements to trim his squad down to 26. The Swiss team will be captained by Granit Xhaka, the 2023-24 Bundesliga champion. Xhaka was instrumental in leading Bayer Leverkusen to the German league title.

The goalkeeping department has Gregor Kobel of Borussia Dortmund and Inter Milan’s Yann Sommer. FC Lorient’s Yvon Mvogo will have to fight hard for his spot between the sticks against these two in the Switzerland team.

At the Euros, for the Swiss side, the backline will have the strength of Manuel Akanji from Manchester City and Newcastle United’s Fabian Schar. Xhaka will likely be playing this campaign alongside Denis Zakaria of AS Monaco in midfield. Former Bayern winger Xherdan Shaqiri will bring the firepower in attack alongside Burnley’s Zeki Amdouni.

Switzerland final 26-man squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Gregor Kobel (Borussia Dortmund), Yvon Mvogo (FC Lorient), Yann Sommer (Inter Milan)

Defenders: Manuel Akanji (Man City), Nico Elvedi (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Rodriguez (Torino FC), Fabian Schar (Newcastle United), Leonidas Stergiou (VfB Stuttgart), Silvan Widmer (FSV Mainz), Cedric Zesiger (VfL Wolfsburg)

Midfielders: Michel Aebischer (Bologna FC), Remo Freuler (Bologna FC), Ardon Jashari (FC Luzern), Dan Ndoye (Bologna FC), Vincent Sierro (Toulouse FC), Granit Xhaka (Bayer Leverkusen), Denis Zakaria (AS Monaco FC)

Forwards: Breel Embolo (AS Monaco FC), Renato Steffen (FC Lugano), Ruben Vargas (FC Augsburg), Zeki Amdouni (Burnley), Kwadwo Duah (Ludogorets), Noah Okafor (AC Milan), Fabian Rieder (Stade Rennais), Xherdan Shaqiri (Chicago Fire), Steven Zuber (AEK Athens)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.