Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Turkey announce provisional squad for Euro 2024; Arda Guler & Hakan Calhanoglu included

Published at :May 28, 2024 at 12:01 AM
Modified at :May 28, 2024 at 12:03 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Rajarshi Shukla

Ay-Yıldızlılar open their Euro 2024 against Georgia

The provisional squad for EURO 2024 of the Turkish National Football Team has been revealed. The team, which is coached by Vincenzo Montella, are placed in Group F against Georgia, Portugal, and the Czech Republic. The opening game is scheduled for June 18 against Georgia.

Vincenzo Montella’s preliminary 35-man Turkey roster for EURO 2024 includes three Serie A players: Zeki Celik, Hakan Calhanoglu, and Kenan Yildiz.

This summer, the competition is scheduled to take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14.

Turkey will take on Italy in a pre-competition friendly on June 4 before joining Georgia, Portugal, and the Czech Republic in their group.

The initial roster for EURO 2024 has been announced by their Italian coach, Montella, and will be reduced to just 26 players by June 7.

After one of his greatest seasons to date, Calhanoglu recently won the Scudetto at Inter. While teenaged Kenan Yildiz has excelled at Juventus, Roma defender Celik is another consistent member of the team.

Turkey’s provisional squad for Euro 2024

Goalkeepers: Altay Bayindir (Manchester United), Doğan Alemdar (Troyes), Mert Günok (Besiktas), Uğurcan Cakır (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Mert Müldür (Fenerbahce), Cağlar Soyuncu (Fenerbahce), Ferdi Kadioğlu (Fenerbahce), Zeki çelik (Roma), Abdülkerim Bardakci (Galatasaray), Ahmetcan Kaplan (Ajax), Merih Demiral (Al-Ahli), Ozan Kabak (Hoffenheim), Samet Akaydın (Panathinaikos), Cenk Özkacar (Valencia)

Midfielders: Berat Ozdemir (Trabzonspor), Can Uzun (Nürnberg), Hakan Calhanoglu (Inter), İsmail Yuksek (Fenerbahce), Kaan Ayhan (Galatasaray), Okay Yokuslu (West Bromwich), Orkun Kokcu (Benfica), Salih Ozcan (Borussia Dortmund)

Forwards: Abdulkadir Omur(Hull City), İrfan Can Kahveci (Fenerbahce), Yunus Akgün (Leicester City), Kenan Yildiz (Juventus), Kerem Akturkoglu (Galatasaray), Barıs Alper Yilmaz (Galatasaray), Oguz Aydin (Corendon Alanyaspor), Arda Guler (Real Madrid), Bertug Yildirim (Rennais), Cenk Tosun (Besiktas), Semih Kılıcsoy (Besiktas), Enes Unal (Bournemouth), Yusuf Yazici (Lille)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.