Men's Hockey World Cup

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 full fixtures, schedule, match timings, results and telecast details


January 12 2023
Hockey World Cup 2023

India are placed in Pool D alongside Spain, Wales and England.

The 2023 Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup is all set to commence from January 13, 2023. This will be the 15th edition of the prestigious tournament. India were picked as the host of this edition of the World Cup back in November 2019. Bhubaneswar and Rourkela are the host cities. India will be hosting the World Cup for the second time in a row after the 2018 edition.

Here is a look at everything you need to know about the 2023 Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup.

Tournament History

The Hockey World Cup was first started in 1971 and has been held every four years since except for the first three editions. Pakistan won the inaugural edition of the World Cup back in 1971. Pakistan are also the most successful country in the Cup’s history as they have lifted the trophy for a record four times. The Netherlands come second with three World Cup triumphs.

The latest edition of the Hockey World Cup was held in 2018 in India. Belgium lifted the trophy in 2018 by defeating The Netherlands in the final. That was Belgium’s first World Cup triumph.

India at the World Cup

India’s only World Cup success came back in 1978. India lifted the 1978 Men’s Hockey World Cup by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in the final. Other than that India finished second in 1973 and third in 1971. India’s best finish since winning the World Cup in 1978 was when they finished fifth in 1982 and 1994. In the last World Cup in 2018, India finished sixth.

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023

16 countries from five different confederations will be participating in the World Cup. The tournament kick-off on January 13 and the final will take place on January 29. The first match of the tournament will be played between Argentina and South Africa. The Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar will be hosting the final.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

Where will the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 take place (Venue)?

The FIH men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 will be held in the state of Odisha. Matches will take place at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar and at the Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela.

How many teams will participate in FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023?

A total of 16 teams are participating in the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023. They are – India, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, England, France, Germany, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, South Africa, Wales.


India: PR Sreejesh, Krishna Pathak, Armanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh (Captain), Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas (Vice Captain), Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Nilakanta Shar, Shamsher Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Rajkumar Pal, Jugraj Singh

Check Other Squads Here.


The Participating countries have been divided into four pools which include four teams each.

Pool A: Argentina, Australia, France, South Africa (Pool A Preview)

Pool B: Belgium, Germany, Japan, Korea (Pool B Preview)

Pool C: Chile, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand (Pool C Preview)

Pool D: England, India, Spain, Wales (Pool D Preview)

What is the tournament format?

All teams have been divided into four different groups of four teams each. Teams in each group will play each other once. At the end of the pool stage, the group winners will directly qualify for the quarter-finals. The second and third-placed teams in each pool will then compete in cross-overs for the remaining four quarter-final spots.

Where and how to watch the live telecast and streaming of FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023?

Fans can watch the live telecast of the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 live on Star Sports First, Star Sports Select 2 SD/HD channels. To watch the live streaming of matches, fans can visit the Disney+Hotstar app or website.

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 Schedule, Fixtures, venue and match timings (IST)

January 13

Argentina 1-0 South Africa- Pool A

Australia 8-0 France- Pool A

England 5-0 Wales – Pool D

India 2-0 Spain – Pool D – Highlights | Report

January 14

New Zealand 3-1 Chile – Pool C

Netherlands 4-0 Malaysia – Pool C

Belgium 5-0 South Korea – Pool B

Germany 3-0 Japan – Pool B

January 15

Spain 5-1 Wales – Pool D

England 0-0 India – Pool D – Highlights | Report

January 16

Malaysia 3-2 Chile – Pool C

New Zealand 0-4 Netherlands – Pool C

France 2-1 South Africa – Pool A

Argentina 3-3 Australia – Pool A

January 17

South Korea 2-1 Japan – Pool B

Germany 2-2 Belgium – Pool B

January 19

Malaysia 3-2 New Zealand – Pool C

Netherlands 14-0 Chile – Pool C

Spain 0-4 England – Pool D

India 4-2 Wales – Pool D – Highlights | Report

January 20

Australia 9-2 South Africa – Pool A

France 5-5 Argentina – Pool A

Belgium 7-1 Japan – Pool B

South Korea 2-7 Germany – Pool B


Malaysia (3)2-2 Spain(4)

India (4)3-3(5) New Zealand – Highlights | Report

Germany 5-1 France – January 23 – Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar – 4:30 PM

Argentina (2)5-5(3) Korea – January 23 – Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar – 7:00 PM


Australia 4-3 Spain

Belgium 2-0 New Zealand

England (3)2-2(4) Germany

Netherlands 5-1 Korea

Classification Round

9th-16th Place Classification

South Africa 6-3 Malaysia

Wales (2)2-2(1) France

Chile 0-8 Argentina

Japan 0-8 India – Highlights | Report

13th-16th Place Classification

Malaysia 3-2 Japan

Chile 2-4 France

9th-12th Place Classification

Argentina 6-0 Wales

South Africa 2-5 India – Highlights | Report


Australia 3-4 Germany

Belgium (3)2-2(2) Netherlands

Third & Fourth Place

Australia 1-3 Netherlands

Hockey World Cup 2023 Final

Germany (5)3-3(4) Belgium

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.