The Blue Tigers take on Cambodia and Myanmar in the next week…

A 24-member Indian National Team squad will leave Mumbai later tonight (March 18, 2017) for India’s back to back matches — the International Friendly against Cambodia in Phnom Penh and the inaugural Group A League match against Myanmar in the AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers UAE 2019.

While the International Friendly against Cambodia is slated on March 22, the match against Myanmar is scheduled on March 28, 2017.

The squad of 24 comprises of four new faces – Nishu Kumar, Anas Edathodika, Jerry Lanrinzuala and Milan Singh, all of whom have ‘earned selection’ into the final squad for the first time.

National Coach Stephen Constantine said, “it was lovely to be back to train in Mumbai.”

“I need to thank the Western India Football Association headed by Mr. Praful Patel and Mr. Aditya Thackeray for their hospitality and help. I admire their passion for the National Team. We didn’t face any obstacle during our training process,” he stated.

“The character showed by the boys in the Camp has been exemplary. They worked very hard and we are looking forward to getting a result in both the matches,” he added. “We are ready for the dual challenge.”

Referring to the match against Myanmar, Constantine maintained that the hosts would “start as favourites.”

“They have qualified on merit for the FIFA U-20 World Cup. They are a very strong side at home. It will be a very difficult match for us.”

India squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, TP Rehenesh.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Anas Edathodika, Dhanapal Ganesh, Fulganco Cardozo, Narayan Das, Jerry Lanrinzuala.

Midfielders: Jackichand Singh, Udanta Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Milan Singh, Md. Rafique, Rowllin Borges, Halicharan Narzary, CK Vineeth.

Forwards: Jeje Lelkephlua, Sunil Chhetri, Daniel Lalhimpuia, Robin Singh.

Forations and Tactics

This is likely to be the most effective formation with the sqauad Constantie has picked. The back four pick themselves and the two full-backs will have plenty of freedom to bomb up and down the wings, as they flank the experienced centre-back pairing of Arnab Mondal and Anas Edathodika. In midfield, Rowlin Borges will be the primary holding player but when without the ball Milan Singh will need to tuck in alongside Borges for the structure to function efficiently. The creative onus lies on the Bengaluru FC trio of Sunil Chhetri, Eugenesin Lyngdoh and CK Vineeth. These are players who can create opportunities out of nothing and the synergy formed at club level should be helpful here. The versatile Robin Singh who is adept with the ball at his feet and in the air will lead the line, presentig the team the options to vary their style of play depending on the situation of the game. Chhetri and Vineeth will also track to assist the full-backs.


This 4-1-3-2 formation is a more attacking option. So, Jerry Lalrinzuala replaces Das at left-back. Here, Mondal becomes the left centre-back and is tasked with clearing the ball. Sandesh Jhingan can play the ball out of the back and plays alongside owing to his stronger right foot. Borges is the holding player. The three ahead of him have the license to attack and create plenty of opportunities for the strike pairing of Jeje Lalpekhlua and Robin Singh. Here too the wingers track back and supplement the two full-backs.