The selection trials for the tournament happened from Thursday to Saturday.

Shiva Thapa and Olympic Bronze medallist Lovlina Borgohain will spearhead India’s campaign at the ASBC Asian Boxing Championships, which is due to be held from October 30 to November 13 in Amman, Jordan.

After a successful stint at the Commonwealth Games, this will be the first major Championship for the boxing contingent to test their skills. India won a total of seven medals out of which three were gold.

The notable names missing out are Commonwealth Games gold medallists Nitu Ganghas, Nikhat Zareen, and Amit Panghal. All three have been rested ahead of the packed calendar next year, with the Asian Games lined up. With only two years left for the Olympics, it is a good opportunity for youngsters to compete.

Trails results

The selection trials for the event were held in NIS Patiala last week from Thursday to Saturday. In the 51kg men, Sparsh Kumar has booked his ticket. Monika and Savita will be taking part in 48kg and 50kg respectively.

Pooja Rani, a known pugilist winning two gold medals at this event earlier, is also set to miss out and is on the reserve list for the 81kg category.

Lovlina Borgohain, the Olympic bronze medallist, has not had a good season after shifting to the 75kg category, a six-kilogram jump from 69kg. She lost in the initial rounds of both the World Championships and the CWG 2022. She won a bronze medal at this event in the previous edition and will look to emulate the performance this year.

Shiva Thapa is the most successful pugilist in the Asian Championships from the Indian contingent, winning a total of five medals (1G, 2S, 2B). In the previous edition, he won a silver and will look to win the sixth successive medal. Vasiliy Levit of Kazakhstan is the only other pugilist apart from Shiva Thapa to win five medals at the continental event.

Mohammed Hassammudin, the CWG bronze medallist, is the other notable pugilist part of the squad.

The Indian squad:

Men’s squad:

48kg – Govid Sahani

51kg – Sparsh Kumar

54kg – Sachin

57kg – Md Hussamuddin

60kg – Etash Khan

63.5kg – Amit Kumar

71kg – Sachin

75kg – Sumit

80kg – Lakshya C

86kg – Kapil P

92kg – Naveen K

+92kg – Narender.

Women’s squad:

48kg – Monika

50kg – Savita

52kg – Minakshi

54kg – Sakshi

57kg – Preeti

60kg – Simranjit Kaur

63kg – Parveen

66kg – Ankushita Boro

70kg – Pooja

75kg – Lovlina Borgohain

81kg – Saweety Boora

+81kg – Alfiya Pathan.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.