Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


PM Narendra Modi congratulates all winners of National Sports Awards 2023

Published at :January 10, 2024 at 2:00 AM
Modified at :January 14, 2024 at 12:01 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Twitter)

Soumyaroop Mukherjee

Prime Minister Narendra Modi also commended the athletes for raising India’s flag high on the global stage.

Honourable Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, has congratulated all the winners of the National sports Awards 2023 in a special message from his twitter handle. PM Modi also acknowledged dedication of all the winners and saw their hard work as an inspiration for the country.

President Droupadi Murmu presented the Sports and Adventure Awards 2023 at a function held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday (January 9). The National Sports Awards include the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Awards; Dronacharya Awards; Arjuna Awards; Dhyan Chand Awards; Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards; Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar; and Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy.

The Khel Ratna Awardee 2023

Out of all these awards, the Khel Ratna Award is the highest and major sporting honour given to athletes annually by the Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. This year, India’s top ranked men’s doubles badminton pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty.

Satwiksairaj and Chirag, popularly known by the portmanteau of “Sat-Chi” are the recipient of the 2023 Khel Ratna Award due to their extraordinary contribution in the field of badminton. The duo secured three Badminton World Federation (BWF) titles last year, the Swiss Open, the Indonesia Open and the Korea Open.

They also won India’s historic first-ever badminton gold at the Asian Games in Hangzhou and also the Asian Championships gold in April. Moreover, they became the first doubles pair in Indian history to be ranked at world number one in BWF rankings.

Arjuna Awardees 2023

Earlier in the award ceremony, India’s star fast bowler Mohammad Shami received the Arjuna Award. Shami was the recipient of the award for his bowling contributions at the ICC Cricket World Cup and World Test Championships. Along with Shami archers Ojas Pravin Deotale, Sheetal Devi, and Aditi Gopichand Swami, and wrestler Antim Panghal were among the stars who received the Arjuna Award.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

Full list of winners at National sports awards 2023

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award Winner

  • Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (badminton)

Arjuna Award Winners

  • Archery: Ojas Pravin Deotale, Aditi Gopichand Swami, Sheetal Devi (para archery)
  • Athletics: Murali Sreeshankar, Parul Chaudhary
  • Boxing: Mohammad Hussamuddin
  • Chess: R Vaishali
  • Cricket: Mohammed Shami, Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (blind cricket)
  • Equestrian: Anush Agarwalla, Divyakriti Singh (equestrian dressage)
  • Golf: Diksha Dagar
  • Hockey: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Sushila Chanu
  • Kabaddi: Pawan Kumar, Ritu Negi
  • Kho-Kho: Nasreen
  • Lawn Bowls: Pinki
  • Shooting: Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, Esha Singh
  • Squash: Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu
  • Table Tennis: Ayhika Mukherjee
  • Wrestling: Sunil Kumar, Antim Panghal
  • Wushu: Naorem Roshibina Devi
  • Para Canoeing: Prachi Yadav

Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches (regular category)

  • Chess: RB Ramesh
  • Hockey: Shivendra Singh
  • Mallakhamb: Ganesh Prabhakar Devrukhkar
  • Para Athletics: Mahaveer Prasad Saini
  • Wrestling: Lalit Kumar

Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches (life-time category)

  • Golf: Jaskirat Singh Grewal
  • Kabaddi: Bhaskaran E
  • Table Tennis: Jayanta Kumar Pushilal

Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement

  • Badminton: Manjusha Kanwar
  • Hockey: Vineet Kumar Sharma
  • Kabaddi: Kavitha Selvaraj

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram