Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


Andre Agassi to replace John McEnroe as Team World Laver Cup captain from 2025

Published at :May 24, 2024 at 8:56 AM
Modified at :May 24, 2024 at 8:56 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Laver Cup)

Mohammed Fazeel

Andre Agassi is one of only five men with a career Grand Slam to their name in the Open Era.

Former World No. #1 Andre Agassi will take over as Team World Captain at the Laver Cup in the 2025 edition, succeeding longtime captain John McEnroe. The tournament venue for next year’s Laver Cup will be San Francisco. 

Fellow American John McEnroe captained Team World since the inaugural Laver Cup in Prague in 2017. McEnroe and his rival from his playing days, Bjorn Borg, captain of Team Europe, will go toe-to-toe for the last time at this year’s Laver Cup. The 2024 Laver Cup is to take place between September 20 and 22 at the Uber Arena in Berlin.

Andre Agassi is one of only five men with a career Grand Slam to their name in the Open Era. His entertaining style on and off the court and audacious shotmaking entertained his legion of fans. The Nevadan, with his flashy personality, was instrumental in transforming the face of tennis in the 1990s.

Along with eight major singles titles, Andre Agassi won the Olympic Gold Medal in Atlanta and 60 ATP Tour titles before retiring from the game at the 2006 US Open. Andre Agassi also spent 101 weeks as World No. #1 on the PIF ATP Rankings.

Also Read: [Watch] Roger Federer reacts after Rafael Nadal confirms his participation in Laver Cup 2024

The Laver Cup is usually played over three days and pits six of the best European male players from Europe against their counterparts from the rest of the world. Three players gain entry based on their PIF ATP rankings, while the other three are chosen at the discretion of the respective team captains.

Bjorn Borg is also to step down as Laver Cup captain following the 2024 edition of the tennis calendar staple. Borg’s replacement is yet to be worked out. Steffi Graf taking over the charge of Team Europe once the legendary Swede steps down would create an interesting situation.

Team Europe won the first four Laver Cup events, while Team World pocketed their first victory in 2022 and successfully defended their title next year with an emphatic 13-2 victory.  

After losing the four Laver Cup trophies to Team Europe, Team World won the next two editions played in 2022 and 2023. The Team World squad defended their 2022 triumph with an emphatic 13-2 victory in the 2023 Vancouver edition at the Rogers Arena. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram