India vs Australia 2023

Matthew Wade to captain as Australia announce 15-men squad for India T20Is after World Cup 2023

Saurabh AnandSaurabh Anand
October 28 2023
Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Rohit Sharma, Australia vs India

Matthew Wade has so far captained Australia in seven T20Is.

Australia have started planning for the upcoming 5-match T20I series against India right after the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. Australia will be staying for a longer time in India and play a 5-match T20I series starting on 23rd November in Visakhapatnam. Cricket Australia have announced a 15-member squad for the T20I series and have rested several key players to focus on the home summer coming ahead in December – January. 

Australia have picked wicket-keeper Mathew Wade as captain of the 15-member team against India. This will be Wade’s third assignment as Australian T20I captain. While several key members of the Australian pace attack and middle-order batting have been given rest, opener David Warner, Travis Head and Steve Smith will be staying in India for the upcoming T20I series. All-rounder Glenn Maxwell will also be part of the 15-member squad.

Key pacers rested for the series

Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins have been rested and they will fly back to Australia after the World Cup to focus on the upcoming home summer. Pakistan will be playing a 3-match test series against Australia starting on 14th December. All-rounders Mitchell Marsh and Cameron Green will also fly back home. Mitchell Marsh led the Australian side in their previous T20I series in absence of Pat Cummins. 

Australia have given left-arm pace bowler Spencer Johnson another opportunity. Johnson will be taking up the role with the new ball along with Jason Beherendorff, Sean Abbott and Nathan Ellis. Indian-origin leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha is also included in the Australia squad for the 5-match T20I series, he will accompany Adam Zampa in the spin department. Glenn Maxwell will play a crucial role in playing XI as an all-rounder and spin bowler. 

Ashton Agar has not recovered from his calf injury and has been ruled out of the T20I series due to the recurrence of his calf injury. Agar also missed the ICC Cricket World Cup in India due to an injured calf. Australia will be taking this as an opportunity to get a balanced squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the USA. The series against India will commence on 23rd November, four days after the World Cup 2023 final.

Australia squad for India T20Is:

Matthew Wade (C), Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.