Novak Djokovic has won the tennis tournament the most number of times.

The Australian Open is a racket sports tennis tournament that has undergone several name changes since its inception in 1905. The competition was held on outdoor hardcourts at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia, for two weeks beginning in mid-January as of 1988, and it was the first among the four Grand Slam competitions since 1987.

The Australian Open was known as The Australasian (Australia and New Zealand) Championships in 1905. Historically, top tennis players did not attend the competition due to its geographic isolation. However, starting in 1924, it became one of the major tennis tournaments (designated by the International Tennis Federation). Because New Zealand tennis officials released their responsibilities to the tournament in 1927, it became known as the Australian Championships.

The men’s singles rules have changed numerous times since the first edition. However, this event has always been played in a knockout format, with all matches being best-of-five sets except for in 1970, 1973, and 1974, when the opening round was best-of-three sets, and in 1982, when the third and fourth rounds were best-of-three sets. 

Since 1905, all sets have been concluded in the advantage format. The slow death best-of-twelve-points tie-break was established in 1971 and used for the first four sets, except for 1980 to 1982, when the tie-break was also played in fifth sets.

The Open Era began in 1968 when Grand Slam tournaments agreed to allow professional and amateur players to compete against each other. However, prior to 1968, only amateurs could compete in Grand Slam tournaments and other ITF-organized or sanctioned events such as the Davis Cup.

With the addition of professional tennis players in 1969, the competition entered the Open Era, in which Novak Djokovic (2008, 2011-2013, 2015-2016, 2019-2021) holds the record for the most titles with nine. In addition, Djokovic holds the record for the most consecutive Open Era titles, with three (2011–2013 and 2019–2021). During the Open Era, Rosewall won without dropping a set in 1971, and Federer won without dropping a set in 2007.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

Full list of Australian Open men’s singles champions

1969Rod LaverAustralia (AUS)
1970Arthur AsheAmerica (USA)
1971Ken RosewallAustralia (AUS)
1972Ken RosewallAustralia (AUS)
1973John NewcombeAustralia (AUS)
1974Jimmy ConnorsAmerica (USA)
1975John NewcombeAustralia (AUS)
1976Mark EdmondsonAustralia (AUS)
1977Roscoe TannerAmerica (USA)
1976Vitas GerulaitisAmerica  (USA)
1978Guillermo VilasArgentina (ARG)
1979Guillermo VilasArgentina (ARG)
1980Brian TeacherAmerica (USA)
1981Johan KriekSouth Africa ( RSA)
1982Johan KriekAmerica (USA)
1983Mats WilanderSweden (SWE)
1984Mats WilanderSweden (SWE)
1985Stefan EdbergSweden (SWE)
1986No tournament due to date change
1987Stefan EdbergSweden (SWE)
1988Mats WilanderSweden (SWE)
1989Ivan LendlCzechoslovakia  (TCH)
1990Ivan LendlCzechoslovakia  (TCH)
1991Boris BeckerGermany (GER)
1992Jim CourierAmerica (USA)
1993Jim CourierAmerica (USA)
1994Pete SamprasAmerica (USA)
1995Andre AgassiAmerica (USA)
1996Boris BeckerGermany (GER)
1997Pete SamprasAmerica (USA)
1998Petr KordaCzech Republic  (CZE)
1999Yevgeny KafelnikovRussia (RUS)
2000Andre AgassiAmerica (USA)
2001Andre AgassiAmerica (USA)
2002Thomas JohanssonSweden (SWE)
2003Andre AgassiAmerica (USA)
2004Roger FedererSwitzerland  (SUI)
2005Marat SafinRussia (RUS)
2006Roger FedererSwitzerland  (SUI)
2007Roger FedererSwitzerland  (SUI)
2008Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2009Rafael NadalSpain  (ESP)
2010Roger FedererSwitzerland  (SUI)
2011Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2012Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2013Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2014Stan WawrinkaSwitzerland  (SUI)
2015Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2016Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2017Roger FedererSwitzerland  (SUI)
2018Roger FedererSwitzerland  (SUI)
2019Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2020Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2021Novak DjokovicSerbia  (SRB)
2022Rafael NadalSpain  (ESP)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.