We take a look at the nations with most World Cup trophies in the history of men’s tennis.

Davis Cup is a premier tennis competition in men’s tennis, conducted by ITF (International Tennis Federation). It is contested annually between teams from competing countries in a knock-out format and the winner of the finals is referred to as the World Champion team. The United States of America is the most successful country having won the Davis Cup a record 32 times. In this article let us discuss the top five countries with the most Davis Cup titles.

Sweden – 7 titles

Sweden won their first Davis Cup title in 1975 and has gone on to win six more titles (1984,1985,1987,1994,1997, and 1998). They were a formidable side in the 1980s and 1990s having won six times in two decades. Bjorn Borg was one of the most famous players from Sweden and was instrumental in the maiden win in 1975.

Mats Wilander then took over the reign from Borg and was part of three title-winning teams(1984,1985, and 1987) and has also won seven grand slam titles. Since 1998, Sweden has failed to even make it to the finals of the Davis Cup bringing an end to their domination. 

Apart from the top 5, Spain has become one of the most dominant countries in the 2000s. They won their maiden title in the year 2000 and since then have won six times with the most recent title in 2019.  

France – 10 titles

France was dominant from 1925 to 1935 winning the Davis Cup title in six successive editions from 1927 to 1932 the joint-highest streak along with the USA. In the six-year title streak, France defeated the USA five times and beat Great Britain once. France went on to reach the finals in 1933 as well but lost to Great Britain (2-3) in a tightly contested match. 

They then went on to win the next Davis Cup title in 1991 after 59 years beating the USA (3-1) in Lyon. The most recent title came in the year 2017 defeating Belgium (3-2). The 2017 squad consisted of former World Number 10 Gael Monfils and Jo Tsonga along with experienced Richard Gasquet and doubles specialist Herbert which was a formidable team.  

Great Britain – 10 titles

Great Britain (British Isles) won ten titles and the rivalry between the USA was huge in the early 1900s. They won four successive Davis Cup titles from 1903 to 1906 defeating the USA thrice and Belgium once. They did not win a trophy from 1907 to 1932 but came back strongly defeating France in 1933. Great Britain once again started their domination beating Australia twice (1934 and 1935) and Australia in 1936. 

After 79 long years, Great Britain once again lifted the Davis Cup beating Belgium (3-1) in the finals. Andy Murray was instrumental in the victory and was involved in three out of the four matches played.

Australasia and Australia – 28 titles

Australasia was a combination of Australia and the Dominion of New Zealand which competed together from 1900 to 1920. They competed in all the major sporting events including the Olympics (1908 and 1912) and finally separated in 1920, since then have sent two separate teams. The Australian Open was initially conducted in both New Zealand and Australia but after a few years, the grand slam was conducted solely in Australia.

Australasia has won 5 Davis Cup title and the remaining 23 has been won by Australia. Australia along with the USA dominated the Davis Cup in the 20th century winning titles – (from 1950-1953), (from 1959 to 1962), and (from 1964 to 1967). The Oceania nation could have added their 24th title but lost to Canada who claimed their maiden Davis Cup title in the 2022 edition.

USA – 32 titles

The United States of America is the most successful country in the history of the Davis Cup winning 32 times. The USA were the champion in the inaugural edition beating Great Britain in the finals in 1900. USA held a few unbeaten streaks throughout the 20th century (from 1920 to 1926), (from 1946 to 1949), and (from 1968 to 1972). The highest unbeaten title-winning streak was from 1920 to 1926 winning seven times the most in Davis Cup. 

Their last title came in the year 2007 defeating Russia (4-1) in Portland and since then have not won a title. This is the first time since the start of the Davis Cup (the USA not winning a title for 16 straight years). With new young players (Tommy Paul, Benjamin Shelton, and Sebastian Korda) emerging, the USA are not far away from winning the cup.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.